Wednesday, January 27, 2016

National Puzzle Day *Revie & Giveaway #LoveHallmark


Gear up for National Puzzle Day January 29th

New Hallmark Puzzles are available at all
Gold Crown Stores and Online




We were thrilled to get our New England Afternoon Puzzle with 550 pieces. It came just before we were inundated with snow, and we were thrilled to have something to occupy our time. My 14 year old took to it right away and got all of the outside pieces hooked in. We had it on the table in the living room and people would stop and work on it as they traveled by. I loved the thickness of the pieces. They are sturdy enough that when the baby got ahold of them, they were still viable!
The pieces feel like artwork! When we got it done I wanted to hang it on the wall, it was so beautiful.
I had to go out and run errands and I came back and all but the sky was done on the puzzle. I decided I couldn't hang it on the wall because I want to get a chance to build it again. I didn't get my fill with the kids taking over.


Take a look at all of these fun details! Spotted animals, small flags and plants, people doing folksy activities. This puzzle made me want to get outside and have a picnic.



Several great puzzles in the new collection to entertain you this winter.
Tropical Wonders, Mary's Bears, Vintage Labels, Marina Dreams, A Vote for America, and many  more.

MADE in the USA!!

Enter to win a great Hallmark Puzzle below
US Only
Ends Feb 7







Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Friday, January 22, 2016

The Plans I Have for You Devotional & Journal *Review & Giveaway





The devotional is an illustrated 90-day devotional written by bestselling children's book author Amy Parker and illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton, teaching and inspiring kids to dream about their future, to focus on faith, love, and joy, and recognize that God has a plan and purpose for each and every one of us.

This is broken down into 'Sectors".
1. I've Got Big Plans for You
2. I've Given You a Purpose
3. I don't do Things Small
4. There's nothing You can't do
5. Find that One Thing
6. What I created you to do

Each sector then is divided into devotions. We assumed that each devotion was 2 pages in length because another title would  be listed. It wasn't real clear as they are pretty small devotions. It wouldn't be enough reading for a 11 or 12 year old. For an 8 year old just starting out, it would be a great start to devotion time, or to use in addition with some Bible time.
Some of the devotions do include a Bible reference to look up.
The illustrations in the devotional are wonderful! Very colorful and geared for boys and girls.

 

Hardcover; 160 pages
Age Range: 8-12 years

 

The journal prompts creative thinking and exploration of the talents and personalities that make us special, and then helps explore how God may use our unique traits to spread love and joy and make the world a better place.
This journal doesn't follow day by day with the devotional so you can easily use it separately. With the new influx in Bible Journaling, this journal is perfect for getting kids to start thinking about how God made them, and how He has great things in store for them. Each page has a prompt and an area to write and often draw a picture. There are even pages simply for doodling.

 
 
There are several times when the Devotional and the Journal have similar illustrations. This really helped connect the two for me.
 
 

Stationery; 208 pages 
Age Range: 11-14 years 

About author Amy Parker:
Amy Parker has sold more than thirty books for children, teens, and adults.  She has also collaborated with authors ranging from New York Times bestsellers to her very own son.  Two of these collaborations are recipients of Christian retailing's Best Awards, and she has also won three Mom's Choice Awards.  But Amy's greatest reward is being a wife to Daniel and a mom to their amazing sons, Michael and Ethan. 









About illustrator Vanessa Brantley-Newton:
Vanessa Brantley-Newton is a self-taught illustrator, doll maker, and crafter.  Her passion for children's books began when she came across The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats as a child in the 1960s.  Growing up in a musical family who love to sing, Vanessa's illustrations are as fun and whimsical as a beautiful melody.  Vanessa currently makes her nest in Charlotte, NC with her husband of 20 years, their daughter, and a very rambunctious cat named Stripes. 













 
Enter to win this great set! US only
Ends Jan 31
 
 


Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.
Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification
Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!




Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Latest Passion CD!! *Review & Giveaway

PASSION
Salvation's Tide is Rising


My oldest just recently got back from his 4th trip to Passion down in Atlanta GA. It has been his all time favorite conference to attend. With great speakers and awesome worship team! He got to hear many of the great singers on this album. What an excellent way for you to be there through listening to the great songs that came out of the Passion movement. This latest album is outstanding and features artists like Kristian Stanfll, Crowder, Chris Tomlin, Christy Nockels and many more.



Track List:
1.  Salvation's Tide is Rising - Passion featuring Kristian Stanfill
2.  My Victory - Passion featuring Crowder
3.  Remember - Passion featuring Brett Younker & Melodie Malone
4.  God & God Alone - Passion featuring Chris Tomlin
5.  Simple Pursuit - Passion featuring Melodie Malone
6.  I Turn to Christ - Passion featuring Matt Redman
7.  Your Grace Amazes Me - Passion featuring Christy Nockels
8.  All We Sinners - Passion featuring Crowder
9.  Surrender - Passion featuring Jimi Cravity
10. Good Good Father - Passion featuring Kristian Stanfill 


About Passion albums:
Since the first release in 1998, Passion albums have sold over 1.3 million units while introducing the church to worship songs like "Our God", "Holy Is The Lord", "How Great Is Our God", and "God Of This City".  Passion is coming off its best charting radio success in 5 years with the single "Even So Come", which went Top 5. 

About The Passion Movement:
The Passion Movement and the messages of founder Louis Giglio have marked the lives of millions of people around the globe, calling people everywhere to live for the glory of God.  From its inception, the movement of Passion has birthed new anthems of worship, influencing countless churches and helping to define the current worship climate and establish artists Chris Tomlin, Crowder, Matt Redman, Christy Nockels, Kristian Stanfill and others.  Louie Giglio is the pastor and founder of Passion City Church in Atlanta, GA. 





Enter to win a copy of this CD before it even comes out in stores!!
I have the mp3 download on my computer playing now and you won't want to miss this one!





Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.
Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification


Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Friday, January 8, 2016

My Must Read Books for 2016





Our Must Read Books for 2016 {Dad & Mum's Book Stand}


I have been collecting books for years. My TBR (To Be Read) pile is crazy, much like my laundry pile! There are a few books though that I have managed to read this past year, and into the new year that I really think would be wonderful to share with my fellow Dad's and Mom's.
Check out these books that will encourage you, and inspire you in your walk with the Lord!

 Fervent is an excellent book on the getting together a battle plan to be consistent in your prayer life. This book has been a huge call out to me, especially after watching the movie The War Room. You don't have to have seen the movie to read this book at all, they are great go alongs but not necessary to have watched or read one to benefit from the other. That being said, if you haven't seen War Room, you really should!
This is a book that you will mark, and highlight and dog ear pages to come back to. A must for the new year!



I really appreciated this devotional as it looks through the life of Christ. It is just one of the 3 volumes, but is so great at sharing different scripture and thoughts on the life of Christ. Very easy to use as a morning devotional, but deep enough that you feel you are getting some meat in your morning.



Writing the Word has been very important to me this year. Though this isn't a reading book per se, it is an excellent resource for your writing scripture. The Journible I have been using is ACTS. I also have Psalms for when I get through with ACTS. I just love that I can write the whole book of the Bible in my writing, take notes on it, and some day pass it on to the kids. There is nothing like reading the Word, writing the Word, and hearing the Word.





Purchase your books here through my affiliate link and I get a few cents to keep up my blog. 








Check out the other Must Read Books at The Old Schoolhouse HERE



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Thursday, January 7, 2016

ETY Kids Safe Listening Earphones *Review


ETY Kids Earphones from Etymotic



These kid safe listening earphones are not only great for Mom and Dad to not have to hear what the kids are listening to, it is also much safer for young ears.
Ever have your little one listening to a show on the kindle and you can hear it even though they are wearing headphones? You holler at them "Turn it down, that's too loud!".
With ETY Kids Earphones, you won't have to be hollering at them to turn it down. This control of earphone sensitivity makes it unnecessary to monitor the volume on the device they are using.
The ETY Kids Earphones will never exceed safe listening volume.




"Sound heard through ETY•Kids earphones will not exceed safe levels, so parents can rest easy. Even at the maximum volume setting on portable players, kids can listen safely for up to four hours per day. And because ETY•Kids earphones block background noise, and provide high-definition sound quality, kids will be able to hear every detail, and won't complain that the volume is too low."



These headphone seal the ears so that the sound stays in, and background noise stays out. Geared for ages 4 and up, the set comes with several ACCU-fit ear tips to get just the right size.
They are very comfortable, and light weight. Easy to carry around in their case, to protect them and have them on hand.

Perfect for our homeschool! I have several children at one time utilizing online programs for school. This requires them to use headphones to block each other out. We have struggled to find headphones that
1. Stay in their little ears
2. Block out sound
3. Don't deafen them as they unknowingly turn the volume up too high
4. Irritate their ears.

ETY Kids earphones takes care of all of our needs. My 8 year old did all of his schoolwork without messing with the earphones at all. He didn't have to adjust them in his ears, he didn't have to mess with the volume, and he didn't have to tell anyone to be quiet around him. Success!!



Keep in touch with the latest technology on
Etymotic Research FB

Purchase your ETY Kids earphones
Website
Amazon





Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Tuesday, January 5, 2016

COCKATOO, TOO to Celebrate National Bird Day! *Review & Giveaway



COCKATOO, TOO
  Bethanie Deeney Murguia

Geared for ages 3-6, this book is full of word play, puns and silliness! I love how Bethanie is not only the author but the illustrator.   A second cockatoo arrives prompting the first to ask, "Cockatoo, Too?". Soon the pages are bursting with cockatoos (and other feathered friends!) wearing tu-tu's doing the can-can -- a hilarious tongue twister that will make kids and adults alike giggle with its clever silliness. So funny watching tutued toucans doing the can-can! You will want to read this slowly, or your tongue will get in knots!
Beautifully fun illustrations! Your child will love the cockatoo and the toucans who join in the fun.




Coloring page, and drawing page you can download on her site as well for the book.


Pick up a copy of your book HERE!

Find Bethanie on these social media sites.
 
Bethanie's Twitter: @aquapup
Bethanie's Website: http://www.aquapup.com/
 
Enter to win a copy of COCKATOO, TOO along with a matching tote bag and notepad!
 

 
Giveaway Ends Jan 15
US Only
 
 







Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Saturday, January 2, 2016

Regina Jennings’ ‘At Love’s Bidding’ Cozy Winter Night Giveaway




After a cross-country trip to track down a sold painting that could ruin her family's business forever, Miranda Wimplegate forms an unlikely but charged partnership with livestock auctioneer Wyatt Ballentine in Regina Jennings' At Love's Bidding. Miranda and her grandfather discover their new auction house doesn’t deal in fine antiques, but in livestock. And its frustratingly handsome manager, Wyatt, is annoyed to discover his fussy new bosses don’t know a thing about the business he’s single-handedly kept afloat. Faced with more heads of cattle than they can count–but no mysterious painting–Miranda and Wyatt must try and prevent a bad situation from getting worse.

Join Regina in celebrating the release of At Love's Bidding by entering to win her Cozy Winter Night giveaway and RSVPing to her January 5th author chat party!

at love's bidding - 400 

One grand prize winner will receive everything you need for a cozy winter night:
at love's bidding - collage 

Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on 1/5. The winner will be announced at the At Love's Bidding Facebook party. RSVP for a chance to connect with Regina and other readers, as well as for a chance to win some great prizes!

at love's bidding-enterbanner

RSVP today and spread the word—tell your friends about the giveaway via FACEBOOK, TWITTER, or PINTEREST and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 5th!

















Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Friday, January 1, 2016

Word of the Year 2016 ~ Hupomone


That time of year again to refocus, and get set with a Word for the Year!
I have given it much thought and have chosen a Greek word for 2016
Hupomone
 
εχηγεομαι
 
 



Definition
  1. steadfastness, constancy, endurance
    1. in the NT the characteristic of a man who is not swerved from his deliberate purpose and his loyalty to faith and piety by even the greatest trials and sufferings
    2. patiently, and steadfastly
  2. a patient, steadfast waiting for
  3. a patient enduring, sustaining, perseverance
biblestudytools.com




With this word, Hupomone, I have much to learn. I plan to read this article from Studylight.org. I also want to find each of the times it is used in scripture, which seems to be about 32 times and write out those verses and study the word more. I find this word to be more active as my word of the year. I think it will grow many areas of my life, simply by doing a word study on it. Excited to see where God takes me in 2016



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!