Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Signed Sealed and Delivered World Premiere on Sunday Oct 4







HALLMARK MOVIES & MYSTERIES ORDERS FOUR ADDITIONAL
“SIGNED, SEALED, DELIVERED” MOVIES IN 2016
FROM TOUCHED BY AN ANGEL EXECUTIVE PRODUCER MARTHA WILLIAMSON

Franchise Continues to Grow as it Debuts New Original Movies This Year With
“Signed, Sealed, Delivered: The Impossible Dream”
World Premiere on Sunday, October 4
    STUDIO CITY, CA -- September 29, 2015 With the increasing popularity of the “Signed, Sealed, Delivered” franchise, Hallmark Movies & Mysteries announces four additional “Signed, Sealed, Delivered” movies from “Touched By An Angel” Executive Producer Martha Williamson in 2016.
    “It is an honor to continue our longstanding relationship with Martha Williamson with four additional movies in this beloved franchise coming to Hallmark Movies & Mysteries in 2016,” said Michelle Vicary, Executive Vice President, Programming, Hallmark Channel and Hallmark Movies & Mysteries. “Martha’s distinctive brand of storytelling captivates our audience, and we look forward to continuing the Signed Sealed Delivered journey.”
    “It’s a privilege to have four more opportunities to encourage our loyal audience and continue growing this franchise that is finding its way into more homes and hearts,” said series Creator and Executive Producer Martha Williamson.
    The franchise will debut its next original movie, “Signed, Sealed, Delivered: The Impossible Dream,” this weekend Sunday, October 4 at 9pm ET/PT, 8C. The beloved POstables Eric Mabius (“Ugly Betty”), Kristin Booth (“Orphan Black”), Crystal Lowe (“Smallville”) and Geoff Gustafson (“Primeval: New World”) go to Washington, D.C. to bring a damaged letter from an American prisoner of war before a Senate Hearing Committee. As the soldier’s fate hangs in the balance, Rita competes in the Miss Special Delivery Contest. The juxtaposition of events poignantly dramatizes the great price of freedom and how unaware civilians can be of the sacrifices of men and women in the Armed Forces. The two-hour event guest stars Mark Valley (“Fringe”) and Christina Bianco (“Forbidden Broadway”).
    Watch a preview here
    Williamson continued, “’Signed, Sealed, Delivered: The Impossible Dream’ is an unusual balance between light and dark, comedy and drama. Our lead character Oliver said it best, ’The world is a terribly complicated place, and so much of it can be ugly. That’s why what is gentle and beautiful and joyful is worth fighting to preserve. And it’s why we honor those who fight.’ She added, “That’s why we made this movie, and we are grateful for the opportunity to share it.”
    “Signed, Sealed, Delivered” is a comedic drama that follows the lives of postal workers who transform themselves into an untraditional team of detectives to track down intended recipients of undeliverable mail. Their missions take them out of the office into an unpredictable world where redirected letters and packages can save lives, solve crimes, reunite old loves and change futures by arriving late but somehow on time.
    The movies are produced by Muse Entertainment in association with MoonWater Productions. Executive producers are Martha Williamson (“Touched By An Angel”), Joel S. Rice (“Tut”) and Michael Prupas (“The Kennedys”). Harvey Kahn (“The Haunting Hour”) is the producer. Kevin Fair directs and serves as an executive producer of the movie. Story by Martha Williamson and Brandi Harkonen. Teleplay by Martha Williamson. Created by Martha Williamson.








Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



USAopoly Board Games for the Whole Family *Review


 USAopoly Review


Board games are making a comeback in our house. Thanks to USAopoly we were able to review 2 new games this month. Geared for ages 8 and up, Wonky: The Crazy Cubes Card Game and
Tapple: Fast Word Fun for Everyone were games we tried with my 7.75, 11 and 13 year olds. I joined in the fun as well and we really enjoyed these games from USAopoly.

 USAopoly Review

Tapple is a word game where you don't need to know how to spell, you just need to know what the beginning letter is of the word. There are categories listed on a card, different color coded for age groups. Since we were playing with an almost 8 year old we chose the easiest of the categories. Of course this made it almost too easy for my 13 year old and definitely for myself.

For example the category was "Found in the Jungle". We would take turns holding the Tapple board, and push the red start button in the center. Then the person holding the board would think of a word of something that is found in the jungle. They say Tiger and push down the T, hand the board to the next person and they hit the red button in the middle and push down the letter J and say Jaguar. You continue passing the board around, having fewer and fewer letters each time to choose a word for. If you can't think of a word in the allotted time, you are out and play passes to the next person. The winner is the person who is still playing once everyone is out, and they receive the category card for their pile. The winner is the one with the most cards.

I find that this game will work best with kids of similar ages. I of course won every round we played because I am older and love word games. My youngest tended to get out first. This would be a great game for a class of students in like a co-op, Sunday school class, or even a birthday party.


USAopoly Review

Wonky was enjoyed a bit more by my crew. It felt more like an even playing field for them, and I could join in and be at a similar level. It is a strategic, visual game that the kids really enjoyed. They laughed often and smacked their heads when their towers fell down!

So there are 9 cubes, but they are not perfectly square, they are 'wonky', and you can play them however you would like. You are dealt 7 cards from the deck, the rest are the draw pile and you have a discard pile. You take your turn and play a card from your hand which tells you the size and color of the block you need to play. The next person takes their turn doing the same and needs to add a block to the stack already there. You play each turn on top of the previous block. Playing it safe you can always put the largest block first. My youngest got a kick out of putting the smallest block first to make it more of a challenge for the next couple players. Some extra cards like skipping a turn, and reverse throw a little bit of a spin on the game. There are also cards where you have to put down a block and then get to do an extra thing like pass or have a player choose another card. If you knock the tower down you have to draw three cards and play continues. The winner is the one who gets rid of all of their cards first. 

The youngest seemed to delight in being the one to have the tower fall because then he got to start the next tower (with a small block), but he also had to draw 3 more cards. He soon caught on that he was not going to be the one to get rid of his cards first, but I really don't think that bothered him. He had more fun sabotaging everyone else!

This game had more of a level playing field and of the two games from USAopoly this was the favorite. I personally enjoyed Tapple, as I love word style games. Both games will stay in our collection for use in our family board game adventures.

Publishing games for 20 years, you are sure to find some games your family will love by visiting USAopoly! Be sure to check them out this upcoming holiday season.




See what my Crew Mates thought of these two games by clicking on the banner below.



 USAopoly Review


Crew Disclaimer

Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Monday, September 28, 2015

NIV Bible for Teen Girls #Zondervan *Review



I can honestly never have too many Bibles. The trouble is I want to read them all! So hard to choose just one to take with my to church and doodle in, or take notes in.
This NIV Bible for Teen Girls is excellent at having devotionals that are designed for teen girls.

This hardback version is a great study Bible for a teen girl and includes
Daily Readings by popular Christian female authors
Character profiles of women in the Bible
Introductions to each book of the Bible
Promises of God are highlighted


The only thing missing that some like, is that the words spoken by Jesus are not in red. I know some people prefer that, others it isn't really a big deal.

The NIV is an easy to relate to version for young people. I used it all through college myself and many of the verses I have memorized are in NIV form.

Growing in Faith, Hope and Love gives a short devotion from a well known Christian author. There are over 300 of them so you could easily read one a day as a devotional morning time.




This is a beautiful, hardback Bible for teen girls. They will love that they can have a special Bible geared to them, that seems to know through the authors, the things that they struggle with as teen girls.
Makes an excellent gift this upcoming holiday season!




Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



New Faith Based Football Film ~Woodlawn Coming Oct 16


 


ROMA DOWNEY AND MARK BURNETT EXECUTIVE PRODUCING NEW FAITH-BASED FOOTBALL FILM WOODLAWN
IN THEATERS OCT. 16, 2015

Serving as Executive Producers on new Erwin Brothers Film
produced by Kevin Downes and distributed by Pure Flix.

LOS ANGELES, Calif., (Sept. 22, 2015) – Roma Downey and Mark Burnett, who took faith-themed entertainment to new global heights with their record-setting miniseries THE BIBLE and their feature film SON OF GOD, have set their sights on WOODLAWN, Football movie set in the segregated south in the 70’s that is as real and relevant today as it was 40 years ago. WOODLAWN premieres in theaters nationwide on October 16th.

Downey and Burnett serve as executive producers under their LightWorkers Media banner. Their previous big-screen credits include SON OF GOD, LITTLE BOY and the much-anticipated epic BEN-HUR due in theaters from Paramount Pictures and Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures next spring.

WOODLAWN, an Erwin Brothers film produced by Kevin Downes, is an exhilarating high school football story about revival and reconciliation that offers hope for overcoming the racial crises facing America today. That is what drew the husband-and-wife team to the project.

“The goal of all of our faith-based projects has been to spotlight the power and goodness of God,” Downey explained. “WOODLAWN fits that bill perfectly: It’s an exciting and emotional look at how faith changes the fortunes and hearts of a football team, a high school and an entire city. This story is an important reminder of what faith in action looks like. WOODLAWN is filled with truly memorable performances and at the heart of the film young Caleb Castille is an amazing new discovery in the lead role”

“Jon and Andy Erwin have made a special film, one that will make you stand and cheer and bring you to your knees in tears." added Burnett "It’s amazing to see Sean Astin in his first football movie since RUDY.”

WOODLAWN tells the true-life story of Tony Nathan (newcomer Caleb Castille), who lands in a powder keg of anger and violence when he joins fellow African-American students at Woodlawn High School in Birmingham, Ala., after its government-mandated desegregation in 1973. The Woodlawn Colonels football team is a microcosm of the problems at the school and in the city, which erupts in cross burnings and riots, and Coach Tandy Geralds (Nic Bishop) is at a loss to solve these unprecedented challenges with his disciplinarian ways.

It’s only when Hank (Sean Astin), an outsider who has been radically affected by the message of hope and love he experienced at a Christian revival meeting, convinces Coach Geralds to let him speak to the team that something truly remarkable begins to happen. More than 40 players, nearly the entire team, black and white, give their lives over to the “better way” Hank tells them is possible through following Jesus, and the change is so profound in them it affects their coach, their school and their community in ways no one could have imagined.

The Colonels make a run at the state playoffs led by Nathan, who achieves superstar status in Birmingham and attracts the attention of legendary University of Alabama football coach Paul “Bear” Bryant (Jon Voight). It’s the miracle, Hank says, of what happens when God shows up.

“We’re honored Roma and Mark are Exec. Producing with us to bring this important story to the big screen at such an important time in history,” director Jon Erwin said. “They are known internationally for sharing God’s unwavering love for us all through quality entertainment. That’s why Andy and I made WOODLAWN – to share that message. It’s why we got into filmmaking in the first place.” 






WOODLAWN, distributed by Pure Flix in conjunction with Provident Films, stars Sean Astin (RUDY, THE LORD OF THE RINGS TRILOGY, MOM’S NIGHT OUT), Nic Bishop (COVERT AFFAIRS, BODY OF PROOF), Caleb Castille (in his feature film debut), C. Thomas Howell (THE OUTSIDERS, RED DAWN), Sherri Shepherd (THE VIEW, PRECIOUS) and Academy-Award winner JON VOIGHT (COMING HOME, ALI, NATIONAL TREASURE). It is directed by The Erwin Brothers (OCTOBER BABY, MOM’S NIGHT OUT) from a script by Jon Erwin and Quinton Peeples and is produced by Kevin Downes (FAITH OF OUR FATHERS, COURAGEOUS).

To learn more about the movie, visit http://www.woodlawnmovie.com/pressroom



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Little Gestalten Publishing


Berlin-based children's book publisher Little Gestalten and their debut line of beautiful, high concept, totally unique picture books. Critically acclaimed, The New York Times Style Section says "Little Gestalten....marries thoughtful storytelling with supercool visuals."  

Issun Boshi: The One Inch Boy - This classic Japanese fairy tale tells the story of Issun Boshi, the tiny son of an old, long childless couple. His mother had longed to have a child for so many years that she finally added "even if it is a very small one" to her wish. When the elderly couple did in fact bear a son, he turned out to be only one inch high. He was thus called Issun Boshi, Japanese for one-inch boy. Tiny and brave -- these are the two most striking characteristics of Issun Boshi. Although his parents raised him very lovingly, Issun Boshi realized one day that he would not grow any taller. He then left his home to set off on a journey to find his place in the world.

Little Red Riding Hood - The New York Times Sunday Review describes this book the best -- "Even the classic “Little Red Riding Hood” seems new again in Little Gestalten’s version, with cutout images that can be held up to the light to cast shadows on the wall until it’s time to say, “My, what big, tired eyes you have."

Elsa and the Night - Elsa and the Night tells the story of an extraordinary friendship. Can one make friends with the night? One day Elsa is sitting at her kitchen table and suddenly hears a sound coming from under the sofa. When she investigates, she realizes that it's neither an animal nor a ghost. It's the night. The night not only listens to Elsa, but also accompanies her on a heartwarming and moving journey where it cares for her, protects her, and finally carries her through the town in its arms. 

The Zoo's Grand Opening - With this book, even the youngest children can playfully learn their ABCs, the names of animals, and how to count. This fun animal book tells the exciting story of a zoo preparing for its opening day. The head zookeeper, who guides young readers through its pages, is waiting anxiously for the animals to get there. Will they all be in their cages by the time the first visitors arrive?

Alphabetics: An Aesthetically Awesome Alliterated Alphabet Anthology - C is for cat? D is for dog? Not in this book! Here, Colossal Cornelius captures his companions with his camera and Daisy the diver dares a death-defying dip with dinosaurs. In Alphabetics, each of the alphabet’s twenty-six letters is depicted with an awesome alliteration—not to mention an illuminating illustration—that will captivate and stimulate young minds.  Although the lettered tales are meant to be humorous and fun, they also serve a commendable purpose. Complex words are introduced to expand children’s vocabularies and linguistic horizons. The book includes a glossary so that readers can look up any terms that are unfamiliar to them.



Beautiful publisher of hard back books for kids. I felt like I was back in my own childhood getting books from the library on field trip day. These books are superb quality, and unique in design.
I love the feel of books and strongly thing that children's books should be in a hard copy, not these kindle style books. It helps cement the excitement of turning the pages of a new book in their mind, and increases their love of reading and learning I think.

* Follow Little Gestalten on Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/gestalten/little-gestalten/
            * Follow Gestalten on Twitter: https://twitter.com/GestaltenNews
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Gestalten

           



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Saturday, September 26, 2015

The Battle Plan Prayer Journal *Review



I picked up The Battle Plan Prayer Journal prior to seeing War Room I really didn't even realize it was part of the lessons from the movie. I really just loved the idea of having a Prayer Journal and loved the Battle Plan title.

After I saw War Room (which was excellent by the way!), I could connect even more with the need for prayer. I have lately been taking down prayer requests in a notebook, but really desired to have one to carry with me all of the time in case I heard of prayer needs, or if the Lord brought some time to me to go over some that I had written down.

The Battle Plan Prayer Journal is the perfect size for your purse, or Bible bag. It is small, so you can't go into great depth of the person's needs. I still have a notebook at home to write down details and such, but the pocket size one is perfect for memory recollection.




There is room to write your prayer requests including a date you wrote it and a date it was answered. You can see above I have room for a name and maybe one or two other words for a memory jogger. There is a Journaling page right next to it if you  need additional room for prayer requests to add more information.

The book includes scriptures on prayer at the bottom of the prayer request pages and gives you some blank pages to write out your own special scriptures to focus on when praying.
There is also a "Heart list" to pray for those who are unsaved, and how to pray for them.

There is a page for each day of the week to pray for specific things on each day.. For instance praying for your Pastor and church on Sunday.
One thing I really like is there is a couple pages devoted to specific styles of prayer.
Prayer of Adoration, Confession, Thanksgiving, and Supplication (ACTS prayers if you are familiar with that)

Much more than just a notebook to write prayer requests in! It gives you ideas for prayers and provides an excellent and beautiful place to put your thoughts and praises.

Check out other family prayer resources at B&H Publishing




Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Bible Stories Gone Crazy *Review




Bible Stories Gone Crazy!

Josh Edwards & Emiliano Migliardo 

Bible Stories Gone Crazy is a look at some familiar Bible stories with a few 'mistakes' thrown in. There are funny mistakes in each drawing and you can look up the Bible verse to try to find out what those mistakes are. You can also try to find a teddy bear on each page for more fun. 
The pages are laminated so you can circle the pictures with a dry erase marker and then try again later or pass it along to a sibling or friend. 
In addition to finding the mistakes and certain features asked on each page, there are questions that go along with it. 

Do you think Noah really painted the ark?
Did the Israe8lites really have surfboards?
Can you find 3 people sharing a sandwich?




The stories include 
Noah's Ark
Moses
Joshua
David defeating Goliath
Daniel in the Lions den
Jonah
Jesus Feeding the multitudes
A Man being lowered in to Jesus from Roof


This is geared for a younger age level, as the things to spy aren't that difficult. Pre-school through early elementary I would recommend. 
It was really fun to look over and do with my 7 year old and talk about how things were different back in Bible times. 
 




Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!


Thursday, September 24, 2015

Christian Heroes, Incorporate them into Your Studies with YWAM *Review



YWAM Publishing Review


YWAM Publishing has always been synonomous with Christian Missionary studies for me. It has been my "go to" whenever we have wanted to study a specific missionary. Not only do they have Christian Heroes: Then & Now, they also have Heroes of History which looks at heroes who helped to shape our nation. 

We were studying China as a unit study and Lottie Moon fit perfectly into what we needed as far as a Missionary from the United States to China. We were familiar with the books and chose Christian Heroes: Then & Now Lottie Moon : Giving Her all for China. Lottie Moon was a new missionary to us, though we had some friends suggest her when we were looking to book our schedule for the school year with missionaries. There are over 40 different Christian Heroes to choose from!

YWAM Publishing Review

One thing we weren't familiar with in this series was the Unit Study Curriculum Guide that you can purchase a physical or digital copy of.  This Unit Study Curriculum Guide helped to take a further exploration into the life of Lottie Moon by utilizing maps, writing assignments, country studies, learning about the culture, and much  more. Lottie Moon was known for giving cookies to the young Chinese children and the book offers a recipe similar to the one Lottie used. 



We chose to use the book as a read aloud during our missionary study in the morning. We usually would read a couple chapters at a time. I could have used some printable to color or work on for my little ones, as they are easily distracted whenever I do a read aloud. The older kids, 11 and 13 were able to listen and process what I was reading well. The book reads just like a story. It shows the early days of Lottie Moon, up until the time she went off to college and then to China. It reads wonderfully and is very engaging. It isn't like reading a biography at all! Much more story, and emotion to the YWAM series than I have read in some other series.


The guide includes:
Key Bible Verses
Display Corner
Chapter Questions
Student Explorations
Community Links
Social Studies
Related Themes to Explore
Culminating Event

We utilized the chapter questions at the end of our reading. This helped me to make sure that they were paying attention and were able to pick up some of the key elements of Lottie Moon's story. 

There are fold out maps in the study guide as well of The World, China, and United States so that you can do some mapping skills directly in the guide if you choose. There is also a fact sheet on China. We had already printed out some of these items prior to getting the guide, but I really did appreciate having them included. 

We were super excited that after we chose Lottie Moon, a friend of ours let us know that she had lived in the town just south of us and was in fact sent off as a missionary from the church there! How fun was that. We made a field trip to the sign that mentioned her. 







 For a glimpse at some of the other great YWAM products click on the banner below. 
 

YWAM Publishing Review


Crew Disclaimer


Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Thursday, September 17, 2015

Super Teacher Worksheets *Review


Super Teacher Worksheets Review

Super Teacher Worksheets is a perfect addition to your home school day. I was able to review the
Individual Membership which is only $19.95 per year! No more jumping from one site to another or googling a worksheet I might need at the last minute. Everything for Pre K through 5th grade with more grades being added. This is a very thorough site with a huge variety of subjects.

Some subjects to print worksheets for are
Math
Reading & Writing
Handwriting
Grammar
Science
Spelling Lists
Holidays (like Fall)
Nutrition
Puzzle and Brain Teasers
Teacher Helpers
even Make your Own Worksheets!!

There are over 10,000 worksheets. That's a lot of worksheets!

Super Teacher Worksheets Review

We aren't 'big' worksheet style home schoolers. I have utilized them more lately with the Super Teacher Worksheet program and have really liked it.
For example..
We only have one computer that the kids can access. I have 3 kids who need to use it for Math, and Spelling at the very least. I had one child working Math on the computer and one of the other ones completed her English assignment and was waiting around. Instead of having her sit idle and wait for her brother on the computer, I just interrupted him for a quick second and printed out a worksheet for her to do. She enjoyed it, and was able to keep going despite not having her 'next' thing available.



I have utilized the Spelling Lists and plugged them into another program to practice spelling. Sometimes I am at a loss as to what spelling words to use and this really helped.

Another time we utilized the worksheets was when we were going to be running errands and in the car alot. Rather than bring our books and all of our supplies, I simply printed out a few review worksheets for each kid. This helped me feel like we were till getting some school in for the day despite the busyness.


I used a writing prompt for my older son the other day to write about Fall. We try to do writing every day and he was in a 'mood' so I knew he wouldn't do anything hard or strenuous. I printed out the page for him to write about Fall just to make sure he was getting some writing in for the day.

They don't just have your traditional print out worksheets either. They also have math card games, reading comprehension passages, phonics mini-books, math mystery pictures, math dice games,  spelling lists, task cards, sight word flashcards, cut-and-glue activities, research projects, book report templates, memory match games, phonics sorts,and more.

Many of the worksheets have the option for Spanish translation as well. This is great for those where English is a second language, or for those learning Spanish and needing some practice.

I can save the worksheets I like in "my file cabinet" to access at any time. This is incredibly helpful for as I scroll through the worksheets and see one I might need in the future, I can stash it in the cabinet rather than print it on the spot and risk losing it. It helps also for me to be able to easily find the ones I need if they are in the cabinet. This really is an awesome feature!


Super Teacher Worksheets Review


Social Media Links
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Pinterest


Check out the other reviews by clicking on the banner below


Super Teacher Worksheets Review

Crew Disclaimer


Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!


Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Intersect DVD Where your Story and God's Story Converge *Review






Intersect DVD (Awaken Movement, July 2015)
Follow the journey of five individuals as they tell authentic stories of circumstances that have forced them to examine how God might fit into their lives.
This five-week small group resource helps spark spiritual conversations. Starting spiritual conversations with those outside of the church is a worthy, yet often difficult and intimidating task. Intersect was designed to help overcome those barriers. It is an easy-to-use resource, perfect for sharing with co-workers, friends, neighbors, and family to enter into meaningful conversations.
Each film is accompanied by thought-provoking questions designed to encourage participants to examine the world in which they live and the life they are pursuing, always ending with a conversation on how Jesus intersects the current topic. Allow this powerful new film resource to engage those you are in relationship with and then propel them forward in their next step with Jesus.
Learn more and purchase a copy.

 I watched this with my whole family including the kids. We didn't run into anything inappropriate for them. The seasons were quite short in what you watched on the DVD. It is also quite basic, so works well with newer Christians or youth. It gives a look at how we can help people think more about God. It is not very "meaty" or scriptural deep. Mature Christians will probably be a bit bored.

It comes with a booklet with a few questions to ask your group. I think the leader would do well to maybe prewatch the video session, and come up with some more discussion questions. I fear that the ones provided won't give enough to make a session go long enough. You could really wrap this whole session up in about half an hour. If you desire it short, its' perfect. If you want it a bit longer you may need to add to it. It is also only 5 weeks long, so great for using in between longer studies to just break it up a bit.


Rob Peabody is the cofounder and international director of Awaken, a nonprofit that exists to resource the church for action. Awaken creates resources that inspire, educate, and equip local churches to live as Kingdom-bringers in their communities. In 2011, Rob and his wife, Medea, along with their two boys left his position as a lead campus pastor at a megachurch in Texas to pioneer and lead a church seeking to engage unreached 20s and 30s in northeast London. He is the author of “Citizen: Your Role in the Alternative Kingdom.” Cris Rogers is a writer, pastor, speaker, and church visionary. In 2010, he planted a church in the poorest area of London with a dream for it to be an explosion of joy within the tower block estate in which he works.

Find out more about Rob Peabody at http://www.awakenmovement.com/home.



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook



I was so excited to get my Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook in the mail today! I had pre-ordered it and didn’t even know it would arrive today until I started seeing posts about it on facebook.

I do have the original Trim Healthy Mama and it is my understanding that the sisters decided to break up that big book and make two separate ones. People seemed to have trouble with the book being so big, costly, hard to get through etc..  I personally thought it was just fine, but yes after you know the plan you really only use half of the book. I have seen people split their original big book apart and have it put into 2 separate books by taking them to a store like Office Max.

The new cookbook Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook: Eat Up and Slim Down with More Than 350 Healthy Recipes is awesome. It contains 350 recipes. It has several of the recipes that people talk about like Good Girl Moonshine, the Shrinker, Egg Roll in a bowl and others that are not in the original book. I would say more than half of the recipes are new ones, not in the original. Probably 75% or more of the recipes have a photo to go along with it. Very nice photography, and this cookbook reads much better like a cookbook. The photos make you want to try the recipe, which is great!

Each recipe is labeled S, E, or FP in the title for quick ease of knowing what you are making. If there is an option to make a either FP or S, it will have the icon for both and tell you later in how to make each. 

There are several of the sisters ingredients used in the recipes; The new baking blend, sweet blend, Just Gelatin, Integral Collagen and others. The recipes do have a NSI note at the bottom for No Special Ingredients if you can make the recipe without the specific Trim Healthy Mama ingredients. For me, I love the Baking Blend so I was looking for more recipes to use it. I also love the Sweet Blend. I will see about the Just Gelatin but I don’t think I will buy the other ingredients for now. I have found substitutes for the other things they sell, but for ease you can easily get them through their online store.

There is no nutritional chart or information with the recipes to chart how much fat, carbs, sugars etc.
There is no information on serving size other than to say it serves “6-8” or is an individual or two person serving. 

There is a synopsis in the back of the book about S, E, FP for a refresher.


 For someone who has been on THM for awhile, this cookbook is outstanding! I needed some new recipes without perusing Pinterest all of the time. It has given me some new ideas for my weekly menus. If you are new to THM then you definitely want the companion book to this one.Trim Healthy Mama Plan: The Easy-Does-It Approach to Vibrant Health and a Slim Waistline

The first recipe I tried within an hour of getting the book. "The Brainy Blueberry Muffin", was wonderful. I was able to use my Baking Blend and The Sweet Blend. Loved it!



I am already working to incorporate more of the recipes into my week. They look so yummy! All while losing weight, having more energy, and taking care of my body.


This post does have affiliate links which means if you purchase through the links, I will get a small portion of the proceeds for upkeep of my blog.. Thanks!


Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!