Friday, May 29, 2015

Hillsong United newest Album #Empires Review & Giveaway





 Hillsong United has brought us some of the most worshipful songs of our day. Simply one of my favorite for entering into a time of praise and worship. Their latest Empires is going to bring you more into an element of gentle worship. The songs aren't loud and boastful, but more subdued and intimate. These will be the songs you sing as you enter more into a worship setting as you seek the face of Jesus. Hands raised high, seeking Jesus and His peace and grace.

Play List:
Here Now (Madness
Say the Word
Heart Like Heaven
Touch the Sky
Street Called Mercy
When I Lost my Heart to You (Hallelujah)
Even When it Hurts (Praise Song)
Prince of Peace
Empires
Rule
Captain
Closer Than You Know



The only one I have heard so far played on our radio station was "Touch the Sky". Title track "Empires" sings about us being empires of light and clay, in the image of our Maker. It was a very poetic song and I predict it will soon be on the radio as well.
Another of my favorites was "When I Lost My Heart to You", with the main refrain being "You have my heart". 

 Intimate worship that you can easily play in your home and enter into a time with the Lord. I love when an entire CD is one you can be restful with. That you can use it to just be still. "Rule" was a little bit faster of a song, but still not as upbeat as some of Hillsong's past compilations.

Enter to win a physical copy of the EMPIRES CD!
US and CAN
Ends June 7, 2015








Find Hillsong United on these social media sites

Twitter: @HillsongUnited

Instagram: @HillsongUnited



"Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”

Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Michael W. Smith Latest Video Release and Giveaway of SOVEREIGN


See Michael W. Smith's latest video of SKY SPILLS OVER from his recently released CD SOVEREIGN


 "I’m really passionate about the song SKY SPILLS OVER.  It was fun creating it in the studio and I’ve been overwhelmed at the response it gets when we perform it live every night.  My son Ryan is a really talented filmmaker so I always enjoy working with him on a project.  But what made this project even more special was that 3 of my own grandkids were in the video.  This video was a lot of fun to make.  I hope people enjoy it!" 
~Michael W. Smith

(How can Smitty even have grand kids?? He was the very first Christian recording artist I listened to when I was saved in college. Hard to believe! He sounds just as amazing as ever!)







Enter to win a copy of Sovereign!

US and Canada
Ends June 4, 2015





"Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”

Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



SOPHi Eco Friendly Naills #ecofriendly Review & Giveaway








SOPHi by Piggy Paint is an eco-friendly nail polish in a variety of gorgeous colors! No more toxins in order to have your nails look salon ready. Without the harsh and smelly chemicals, SOPHi creates a durable, high quality nail care system for your best look for women. I know I was totally jealous that they had such wonderful products for young girls, and now it's our turn Mamas!




My daughter has used Piggy Paint for a couple of years now. I refuse to let her use the toxic, 'cheap' brands out there. I want to start her off young realizing the eco-friendly products are better for her and the environment. I would not put any other product on my infant baby than the Piggy Paint. As natural as Mud! It is much easier to paint hers while she sleeps.




"It's a Girl Thing" is a matte, light pink. Such a fun color for the summer sun. Because it is non toxic, you do want to use the SOPHi prime, shine and seal system for best results. It is also helpful to use a hair dryer in between each coat.The heat hardens each coat for longevity.
I love how they are non toxic, for both my baby girl and myself.

I find that they tend to chip a little easier than a manicure. I am willing to make that trade though for the eco friendly, non toxic products compared to the chemical laden ones in a salon.

SOPHi comes in 12 beautiful colors! Colors for all seasons. The water based formula leaves your nails healthy rather than brittle and yellow. Hypoallergenic and odorless.





Support this mom-invention by LIKING SOPHi on Facebook

SOPHi is giving my readers the opportunity to win The Prime, Shine, Seal System, SOPHi nail polish and the Nail Polish Remover

Enter to Win!

 1 bottle of each of the following:
SOPHi Nail Polish
SOPHi Primer + Sealer
SOPHi Shine Topcoat
SOPHi Nail Polish Remover Gel
US only
Ends June 13, 2015



Find SOPHi on these social media outlets
Facebook SOPHi
Twitter @sophi_nail
Instagram



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Tiny Destroyer Songs and Stories by Keith Munslow *Review





Out of all of the children's CD's we have reviewed, this takes Top Place! We have loved this CD, from my 7 year old playing it repetitively to my teens wanting to put it on their ipods. It is funny, lyrical and a great time for the whole family.

By far their favorite song was "Dad is Takin' a Nap" which they actually played while he was snoozing on the couch, and they sang along to it without him even waking up. The younger ones have made videos using their toys to re-enact it as well.

Their second favorite was "The Last Chicken Wing". Again the little ones made a 'movie video' of the song with their toys acting it out. They also start singing it when we were eating chicken wings.

They have now dubbed the 6 month old baby the "Tiny Destroyer".!

Wonderful CD that I don't even mind them playing in the car over and over. This has been our favorite over several years and has got more play time than any other CD we have reviewed.

There are a couple of stories as well as songs. "Old Joe's Bones" I wasn't sure about at first, thought it might be scary.. let's just say it isn't what you initially think. Great story telling!

Play List:
Coffee Breath
Intelligent Clam
Seeing Monkeys
Tiny Destroyer
Old Joe's Bones
Dad is taking a Nap
Too much Sugar
Magic Bike
The Last Chicken Wing
Princess Pepper's Story
Get along Little Kitty
I can still Say I love you

Check out Keith's Music at www.keithmunslow.com
Facebook Keith Munslow

For only $10, this is so worth the fun!!





Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Thursday, May 21, 2015

Exploring Ephesus the City of Apostles *Review



FishFlix.com Review

FishFlix.com has Christian movies that inspire and entertain! I  love safe places to shop for valuable movies that I know my family can enjoy together.
I chose  Exploring Ephesus to share with my older kids and hubby. We so enjoy seeing the sites of where people from the Bible walked and ministered.


FishFlix.com Review

Dr. Mark Wilson (author of Biblical Turkey) and Dr. Andy Jackson meet up in modern day Turkey. They start in Biblical Smyrna, now modern day Izmir. Turkey is where much of the New Testament took place and it is often referred to as "the other Holy Land". Many of Paul's mission trips were to Turkey and many of his letters were written to or from those in Turkey. This is the hub of where it all took place. I love how we can see the countryside as they travel to Ephesus where Paul spent 3 years of his ministry.
They map for us the trips that Paul took, showing some of the ways he would have traveled and the other towns he went through.
There was much pagan worship in the area and the Dr's show us some of the buildings were they celebrated Emperor worship. Greeks idolized their emperors as they were living, where the Romans only did upon their death. Both obviously being pagan and idolatry. Artemis was a big idol in Ephesus as well, with many temples built.There was a column that celebrated both of these cults, Artemis and the Imperial Worship.

2 million people come and visit Ephesus today! It really was a beautifully done historical site. I wish they would have spent more time pointing out more of the various building, but that would be more like going on a Biblical Tour to Turkey. This show really encouraged me to consider doing that. I love having history come to life like this for me and the kids.

They showed one cave that had drawings of what appeared to be Paul. I found that to be really awesome!

The film did provide a variety of places and structures. I really enjoyed having them pick out Bible scriptures that were depicting some of the area at the time, and writing to the people who lived there.

I really enjoyed the visit to Patmos, the island where John got the book of Revelation. It was much more crowded than I had pictured it. Of course over time it has become quite the tourist paradise.


Bonus features include:
The Book of Ephesians
The Seven Churches
Lessons for Today
Music Video
Trailer

Each some additional information with both of the men discussing the topics while in Ephesus. The music video includes some scenes from the  movie plus additional scenes set to instrumental music.


There were some small subtitles on some of the shots. I struggled to see them as they were white font and made it hard to see. I saw them better on my computer than I did on the TV. I would recommend those being black for ease in reading in the amount of time we have.

Find FishFlix on these social media sites

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/fishflix
Twitter: https://twitter.com/christiandvd
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/fishflix/
Google+: https://plus.google.com/+Fishflix/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/familychristianmovie




See what the other Crew members thought of this film and others by clicking on the banner below.



FishFlix.com Review



Crew Disclaimer



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Wordless Wednesday









Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Lewis & Clark Unit Study from Homeschool Legacy *Review



Homeschool Legacy Review


 Homeschool Legacy is a fantastic resource for for Once-a-Week Unit Studies.
Grade 2-12 all in one group! One of the great things we love about unit studies is that I can do it with the team. I used this with my 1st, 4th and 7th grader and it was a perfect combination. We could have easily added in the 10th grader but we decided to keep it focused just on the younger ones.

Homeschool Legacy Review
We were given the digital version of  Lewis & Clark: From Sea to Shining Sea
I went ahead and had it all printed out and clipped together for my ease. You wouldn't have to print everything out if you didn't want to, but it really is easier for me than having to be right by a computer. There are some hyper links within the study that you can click on to get more information on certain topics that you are discussing.
The study is 7 weeks in length. The other unit studies vary in length from 4 weeks for a micro study to 8 weeks.
Homeschool Legacy Review


The unit study is designed for using once a week. You choose one day a week to cease your normal curriculum and utilize the unit study. There are some read alouds or reading that you can do each day if you like. There is also the option for a field trip style activity that you would do on a different day.
We varied on what day we used, either Tuesday or Thursday. We would go to the library early in the week and look for books from the list given. We found a hand full of the books, but more often than not we just searched and found some similar in nature. We chose not to do a big chapter book read aloud with this unit study as I wanted to keep the kids attention, and they tend to get bogged down with non fiction style books. We will be choosing who to read a biography on however at the end of the complete study. The recommended books easily fill the 2nd-12th grade age range. We picked up a few picture books for the youngest, and some more advanced ones for the oldest.

I also used the time in the early part of the week to pick up supplies for our art and craft portion. This is typically my kids favorite part so a must. We live in a small town and I wasn't able to find plaster of paris so we revised the activity that required that. That is another thing about unit studies I love is the flexibility in changing things and adding to what is there is you desire to learn more on a specific topic.

Everything you need to teach is in the study guide. You won't have to research any thing, nor have experience in the subject. Once I picked up the books and supplies we were set.

Lewis & Clark From Sea to Shining Sea weeks are as follows:

1. New France
2. Thomas Jefferson, Napoleon Bonaparte, and the Louisiana Purchase
3. Fixing for a Start
4. Sacagawea Joins the Corps
5. Trails and Tribulations
6. Ocean in View! Oh What Joy!
7. Homeward Bound



Each unit included:
Family Devotions
History/Language
Science
Arts & Crafts

Others had Architecture, Geography, Math and even Cooking!

Check out our Crawfish Etouffee, which we used shrimp for. Just a few weeks later and we could have used real crawfish from our river. (I personally liked the ease of the shrimp!)


 With rice for the kids


 With Quinoa for Mom and Dad


The first week we made a journal to be used throughout the study, much like Lewis and Clark did on
 their explore. This was really fun! They used it weekly to add to it. Drawings of things like beavers, Seaman (Lewis and Clark's dog), plant life, crawfish and more.

This Unit Study helped my kids get in the exploring mood! We even had them go on a kayak ride and pretend it was a Keel boat used on the adventure.



Learning about the variety of plants was fun as well. We didn't even have to leave our own property for them to collect and display a collection of 24 samples. They took their backpacks out and went on an adventure, even taking a little pup tent with them!




I had previously reviewed the Horsing Around Unit Study and loved that. This is the second one we have done and I can't say enough good things about it.
Just a few of the things I love about Homeschool Legacy

1. Biblically Based and focused
2. Only once a week so we don't miss out on our other studies
3. Geared for a variety of ages
4. Complete in that I don't have to do any additional research
5. Hands on learning for History and Science
6. Economical


I am considering adding these to our line up for next fall, especially some of the history ones. It has really helped make history come alive for us and given the kids and myself more of an interest.


View a sample week of our study on Lewis & Clark.

Find Homeschool Legacy on these social media sites
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/homeschoollegacy?fref=ts
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/hslegacy
Twitter: http://twitter.com/homeschoollegac


See some of the other Unit Studies offered by Homeschool Legacy and what the Crew thought of them by clicking on the banner below.


Homeschool Legacy Review




Crew Disclaimer



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Mother's Day












Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



WordsBright A New Take on ABC's! *Review


Smiling Sunrise Review
WordsBright has come out with it's first publication, a new take on ABCs! S is for Smiling Sunrise
The ABC book of sing along rhymes take the alphabet to a new level. Utilizing positive concepts and values, the book helps the child grow in character development. Not your typical, A is for Apple, B is for Boat, this book helps to grown the young child's vocabulary. 

Smiling Sunrise Review


Geared for ages pre-k through grade 3. I used this book with my 1st grade son. 
The rhyming lyrics can be downloaded in an MP3 to sing along. For those students who really like singing and learning new songs in kid like fashion, it is great. I think this will appeal more to the preschool age children. The song sings the entire book in the tune of the original ABC song. 

There is also a teacher guide that you can download. One for PreK-K, and then a second one for K-3. This teacher guide really gave some excellent ideas on how to use this book for the older children. At first I was reluctant to review an ABC book, with my 7 year old being 'too old' and my 5 month old being 'too young" to benefit from. I was wrong!

The teacher guide has you consider some pre reading questions to get the student thinking in the way of virtues, character and the world around him.
Each letter has suggestions for Concepts, Questions, Activities and Vocabulary. I really like how the vocabulary in each letter is at a higher level than what you see basic ABC books. For example, K is for Kaleidoscope, Q is for quiet, and V is for virtues. Each letter has four lines of text and with each one there are several new words to introduce to your student. I do tire of 'babyish' ABC books, of which this is not!

I had my 10 year old read it to my 7 year old, so I had the added benefit of her learning bigger words for sounding out as well. Words like fragrant, interesting, brilliant, and galaxies helped to expand her vocabulary as well. My little baby listened in as well. She already loves to listen to people read to her!

I love the idea of utilizing this book for an Letter of the week style theme. We did that in the past with my kids, and I look forward to doing that with the baby in preschool. The ideas in the teacher guide help to expand on each letter and it gives you a starting point.





See what the rest of the crew thought by clicking on the banner below.


Wordsbright Review


Crew Disclaimer

Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Friday, May 1, 2015

La La Logic Preschool Curriculum *Review




La La Logic Review


La La Logic is an online preschool program to challenge little ones to think logically. The  Preschool Curriculum
is geared for ages 3-6. We used it with my 7 year old and he still really enjoyed it. 
The La La Logic Curriculum has 100 weeks of plans. Each week has three components. There is the brain challenge, the enrichment set (downloadable and done off line), and worksheets that are printed. Each days assignments went very quickly for my 7 year old so we tended to move along at a faster pace. 
Each Brain Challenge tells the parent what it is working with, something I really appreciated. It was perhaps just a 'game' to Maverick, but for me I could see the skills that he was learning. 
We tried the weekly assignments for a few weeks and because of his age felt we were rushing through a week in a day basically. I chose not to print the worksheets because they were fairly ink intensive and he would have done them in record time. I think for a younger child who enjoys worksheets they would be perfect. 
La La Logic Review
We had another option with the La La Logic program and that was to go straight to the Brain Challenge Mode of continuous challenges. The brain challenges build on each other so it is good to start in the beginning. Just going in brain challenge continuous mode there are 500 challenges that are in the order that they are in the curriculum. For my older child that I didn't need help, this was a fantastic asset to the program! You can start it off at different sessions based on intervals of 10. 
We started in the beginning and I would see where he ended on his last session so I knew where to start him off again. 
To my 7 year old it was really like playing computer games! He would get his other school work done and then want to play games on La La Logic. Win for us!
 
We used La La Logic on the PC but I am going to see about switching him over to the Kindle for easier access. We tend to have to share computers with older brothers so this would be a great program for him to utilize on his own as well. You can not beat the price! $29 one time price. That isn't per child, that is per household. It can track up to 5 kids for you. Lifetime access! After reviewing several programs I must say that is really an outstanding price! If you can utilize it with younger children I think you can fully get the value out of the program through the enrichment studies and worksheets. Older students definitely get some extensive training on how to learn and retain knowledge. You can not go wrong with this program. 

The variety of brain challenges will keep the child entertained and progressing in knowledge.
La La Logic Review

 Here is an example of what some of the worksheets look like to print off for additional work.

La La Logic Review
Find La La Logic on Facebook 

Check out the reviews by clicking the banner below and see how some other Mom's utilized this program!


La La Logic Review


Crew Disclaimer

Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!