Saturday, February 28, 2015

Batman Party Kit Birthday in a Box *Review



 A seven year old's birthday is a super special occassion. This special 7 year old has a new baby sister who is only 10 days old. I am so thankful for Birthday in a Box to help make this birthday party easy for me! They have a huge selection of birthday supplies in all themes.


My 7 year old is a huge batman fan so we opted for a Batman Party complete with balloons, cups, plates, napkins,  silverware, decorations, centerpiece, masks and even candles. The only thing I needed to add to it was the cake! I was able to make his birthday super special despite having a new baby. Birthday in a box is a must for all of my kids upcoming birthday parties. The prices are really reasonable and you can find just about any theme you can imagine. I live in a small town and we only have one store that would even carry birthday supplies. Their selection is very limited to what is popular right now, and batman wasn't one of them.

We took the mylar balloons that were included to our local store and they put helium in them for a small fee. The huge Batman balloon was a hit!




 Learn about  Batman's History and share it with your batman fans! We strung up the crepe paper and banner and our birthday party was staged.





 We even tried to make the new baby join in the party!







 Birthday in a Box was a huge success! I couldn't have been any more pleased with the supplies it came with. We literally had everything we needed. So stress free!








Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Kimberly House Baby Linens *Review & Giveaway




Kimberly House luxury linens, natural fiber, and hand embroidered. Their baby line is exquisite!

We reviewed this beautiful sleepsack in rosebud pink. At three months old my daughter is already an expert at kicking off her blankets and covers at night. We have had record low temperatures in KY this winter, and it is not the time to be doing that!



The Gordonsbury sleepsack is like a baby sleeping bag. She can't kick it off, but has plenty of room to stretch and move to her hearts content. We have pajamas that are simply made of a thin cotton that are a sleep sack idea, but they still don't keep her as warm as I would like. This is a heavy weight, 100% cotton sack has a zippered bottom with snaps at the shoulder for easily accessing the baby while she sleeps.


I tend to have to change her diaper midway through the night, and the zippered pouch makes it easy to do without disturbing her sleep.

This sleepsack is for babies up to 6 months, or when they outgrow it. I plan on keeping this around for grandbabies for sure. The embroidered details are reminiscent of the old days when people took the time to handcraft gowns for their their babies. The roses are perfect and so tiny!


Kimberly House has a complete line of gorgeous bedding and linen for your baby. Delicate and warm just as you would want for your precious bundle.
This bedding by Gordonsbury is heirloom quality. Your little one will pass it on to her baby, and grandbabies after. It is just that great of a quality!


I have a wonderful giveaway for you which includes a Nappy Stacker and Guest Towel from the Hey Diddle Diddle nursery rhyme line.


Enter to win these Heirloom Products!
US Only
Ends March 17th



 Kimberly House on Facebook
@Kimberly_House


Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Friday, February 27, 2015

Random 5 on Friday



 1. I have 3 extra teenage boys spending the night tonight to celebrate my 16 year olds birthday. I have 4 of my own so that makes 7 total teens in the house!

2. I am so over the snow. Looking forward to planting the garden soon, if we can unbury the ground

3. Jurnee laughed for the first time today, so precious. She is 3 months old

4. My blog numbers are low... Finding it hard to keep up still but looking forward to getting a few reviews done this weekend and joining in a few blog hops.

5.  Shiloh and I crafted some cards for St. Jude's hospital today along with some other homeschool families. It was fun to be a blessing



Link up HERE with your Random 5


Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Thursday, February 26, 2015

In Freedom's Cause a G.A. Henty Adventure *Review


In Freedom's Cause Audio CD Review

 Heirloom Audio Productions  has taken G. A. Henty book and created a great audio theater adventure called In Freedom's Cause, The Real Story of Wallace and Bruce.  In Freedom's Cause Single Package  is geared toward ages 6-adult. For $29.97 the package includes;
  
 In Freedom's Cause (CD Set - Physical Copy)
In Freedom's Cause Study Guide (Digital Download)
In Freedom's Cause Soundtrack (MP3 download)
Printable copy of The Prayer Of William Wallace. (Digital Download)

G. A. Henty wrote 120 books in his time, all with historic significance. His tales tell adventures about history that young people have enjoyed for years.

In Freedom's Cause we see Wallace struggling to free Scotland from the clutches of England in the late 1200's. He was a man who fought with valor and dignity, girded in the knowledge of God.
I loved how Wallace sought out God and used Scripture in his message. 

I shared this story with my family. We tried to multi task while listening but I wasn't able to do that. It was so action packed and moved so fast that I soon got lost and had to 'rewind' to start over. It isn't a 'light listening' where you can do much more than color or draw while listening. It is 2 1/2 hours in length and best broke up into 1/2 hour sections. It got long for my 7 and 10 year old and couldn't keep their attention. Unfortunately my family isn't big into history, and I had hoped this would excite them, but it didn't. As an adult I have much more interest in History now and I found it exciting to listen to. My older teens listened as well and were able to pay attention and keep focused.

I know many people like to listen to audio drama in the car and this may be a great one for long trips. Hopefully the driver can multi task! I think I could listen to the entire thing if I was on a long trip like that. I just have a hard time sitting still for more than 1/2 hour at a time. 

I downloaded the study guide and it looked like it would really make the story more memorable and useful as a history lesson.
 The study guide includes;
  •  The Listening Well for questions to help kids focus on what they heard and remember
  • Thinking Further to have you delve more into the thoughts and actions of the characters
  • Defining Words to increase vocabulary and look up words the listener may not have caught
  • Bible Study at the end of the study
  • Additional information on historic Scotland 
  • A suggested reading list
I couldn't capture the kids attention with the study guide, but I enjoyed looking through it. I think if my kids were more keen on history it would be an excellent accompaniment to the CD's. 

 In Freedom's Cause would be a great addition to a study on Scottish History, Heroes who garnished their strength from God, or G. A. Henty study.


For additional reviews click on the banner below

In Freedom's Cause Review



Find out more about In Freedom's Cause from these Social Media sites:

 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/InFreedomsCause
Twitter: https://twitter.com/InFreedomsCause
Google+:  > https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/112701427096792421838/112701427096792421838/posts
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/jointhecause


Crew Disclaimer

Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Indoctrination DVD *Review


IndoctriNation DVD Review

Great Commission Films presents IndoctriNation  Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America on DVD. This 102 minute DVD for $19.99 is best suited for adults and older teens due to some material being inappropriate for young listeners. 

I have had the book of the same title for a couple years and really enjoyed it. The book is great for current home schoolers to energize and refresh their thoughts, but most copies won't reach the ears that truly need to read it. The DVD is so much better suited to target a variety of audiences. I may have a chance of getting a Christian friend who sends their child to public school to watch the DVD, rather than take the time to read the book. So who is the target audience for IndoctriNation?

For those who currently homeschool, the DVD in a sense is 'preaching to the choir'. But.. it is refreshing in that it:
  • Gives legitimacy to the reasons why we choose to homeschool
  • Encourages us to keep on the path that we are on
  • Gives us facts to share with friends and family who currently have children in the public school system. 
I believe the target audience would be for those who may be on the fence about home schooling. Those Christian parents who need some facts and insights into what truly is happening in the public school. I would hope that all Christian parents with school age children would watch the film. I think some of them would be offended, but I hope in the same note they would feel a sense of conviction.

IndoctriNation follows Colin Gunn and his family as they take 3 months in a school bus and travel to the country. They hit the states of TX, PA, NC, NE, NY, VA, MA, IN, DC, SC, IL,TN, KY, WV and CO while interviewing teachers, pastors, principles and students.

Twenty-six million kids are daily taken on the big yellow bus to a pagan, government run institution. These schools are indoctrinating our children in;
  • Sexual Education, premarital sex, abortion
  • Drugs
  • Guns and violence
  • Liberal agenda

Colin Gunn utilizes news broadcasts, scenes from schools, and  interviews to dig into these indoctrinating topics. Wasn't our country found on Christian values? What happened to those values in the schools? The Puritans came to America to find that liberty to use the Bible to educate their children. The New England Primer utilized the Bible to teach the alphabet to children. These schools were grounded in the Word. The first actual public school however, was not.

Horace Mann was the first to start a centralized, state funded, compulsory, forced education which was patterned after Prussian Germany. The system was very similar in thoughts to those of Karl Marx, not Christianity. To reclaim our schools and 'take them back' would be pointless as they never started out as 'ours', in the Christian sense.

What happened to learning math and reading? Seems from watching this DVD that the focus in the school is to train the future generations to be servants of the state. The academic levels of the schools continue to disintegrate.

 Pastor Voddie Baucham Jr mentions that 90% of Christians make the same decision on one item.. educational choice. They fight over the right version of the Bible to use, and on what denomination is better. They are united in sending their children to public school though.. yet there is no book, chapter or verse in the Bible to justify that. Wow!

I'm obviously already swayed to home schooling. The movie encouraged both my husband and I that we are definitely doing the right thing and we will continue to focus on training up our children in the values we hold rather than the indoctrination that the government is so bent on convincing our children of. With DVD in hand I plan on sharing with those God leads. There are people who need to watch this, who are wondering about the schools and haven't been able to get answers. Colin Gunn doesn't put on blinders to the truth. I pray that this DVD gets into the right hands and that more parents make the grand exodus from the public school system.

 Keep up with the latest on IndoctriNation by visiting these social media sites.


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IndoctriNationMovie
Twitter: https://twitter.com/indocmovie
Vimeo: http://vimeo.com/indoctrination
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/IndoctriNationMovie





IndoctriNation DVD Review



Crew Disclaimer


Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Cheeky Chompers Comfortchew *Review






Cheeky Chompers will delight your infant with the Comfortchew. This teether with adorable "Chewy" the hippo is perfect for your little one. The hippo is BPA and phthalates free and is perfect size for the munching little one. The ribbon tags have always been a favorite with my young babies! Perfect for any size baby to work on those fine motor skills of gripping. The light gray background has fun safari animals, and the back is a nice soft gray fleece. It has an elastic link to attach to your car seat or toys so baby doesn't throw it on the floor.



The Comfortchew comes in 3 other designs with "Chewy" as the teether. So cute!
Machine washable which is a huge plus! This is going to be a favorite for my daughter I am sure.
I love that two Mamas started Cheeky Chompers, as they surely know what little ones like!

Be sure to check out Cheeky Chompers on Facebook



**Exclusively distributed by Kalencom



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Monday, February 16, 2015

Fruttata Crisps *Review


 Fruttata, the leading maker of delicious and healthy freeze-dried fruit crisp snacks. If you’re not familiar, the crisps are created via freeze drying , the process of removing moisture from food through a dryer at -40°F. Made from the freshest tropical fruits (think apples, bananas, mangos and pineapples) this guilt-free snack is the ultimate, tasty on-the-go treat, with all the health benefits and nutrients of real fruit (because it is just that – real fruit)!
 
Having launched this January 2015, this product retails for $1.79- $9.99, where it can be purchased nationwide on Amazon.com, and locally at Duane Reade and Costco stores. With just 35 calories per serving, Fruttata is the perfect snack while traveling, children’s lunch boxes or pre/post workouts.



Fruttata’s newest and “cult favorite” products include:
  • Apple Crisps
  • Pineapple Crisps
  • Tropical Fruit Blend ( Banana, Pineapple and Mango)
  • Banana Crips (LAUNCHING FEBRUARY 2015)

Perfect for snacking! It isn't always easy to carry an apple or pineapple in your bag, but it is easy to carry a portion sized Fruttata pack!
No list of ingredients that you can't even pronounce. The list of the dried apple crisps, is simply apples. The same thing with the pineapple, just pineapple. The beauty of freeze dried foods is that they maintain their flavor and nutrition without having to coat them in preservatives.

Try Fruttata today!

  • Healthiest Drugstore Snacks
  • Purse/Gym Bag Stuffers
  • Best New Products
  • Kid-Friendly Snacks
  • New Wave of Snacking (Freeze-dried fruits)
  • Snacking-on-the-go
  • Clean Eating  
  • Pre/Post Gym Snacks

Find Fruttata on these social media sites
Facebook Fruttata
Twitter @FruttataCrisps




Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Louise Loves Art by Kelly Light *Review & Giveaway






We love to sit and snuggle on the couch and read awesome books in the winter! With the sun setting so early, and the cold nights, there isn't anything better than snuggling in for a long winter's nap!
Louise Loves Art by Kelly Light is a very enjoyable picture book

LOUISE LOVES ART by Kelly Light ($17.99, ages 4-8)

For fans of Olivia and Eloise, this stunning debut from Kelly Light is an irresistible story about the importance of creativity in all its forms.
Meet Louise. Louise loves art more than anything. It's her imagination on the outside. She is determined to create a masterpiece—her pièce de résistance!
Louise also loves Art, her little brother. This is their story.
Louise Loves Art is a celebration of the brilliant artist who resides in all of us.

I love the illustrations in this book! The colors are great with the emphasis on red, black and white. I really enjoy this style of illustrating. Louise is always drawing, she says "So little time, so much to draw". Louise is setting up her art show in her house, and her brother Art just wants a little attention. He accidentally cuts up her masterpiece into a beautiful paperdoll. What an awesome big sister! She is upset of course, but she puts her little brother first before her love of art, and that is just beautiful!!

Enter to win a copy of Louise loves Art
Ends Feb 28
US only






  Follow Kelly on these social media sites
* Following Kelly on Twitter @kellylight
 * Following Kelly on Instagram @kelight



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Thursday, February 12, 2015

The Abbot's Agreement by Mel Starr *Review



 
A new and disturbing puzzle for the medieval surgeon-turned-sleuth
Master Hugh de Singleton is making his way toward Oxford when he discovers the corpse of a young Benedictine not half a mile from the nearby abbey.
The abbey's novice master confirms the boy's identity; it is John, one of three novices. He had gone missing four days previous, and yet his corpse is fresh. There has been plague in the area, but this was not the cause of death—the lad has been stabbed in the back. To Hugh’s sinking heart, the abbot has a commission for him.
With realistic medical procedures of the period, droll medieval wit, and a consistent underlying sense of Christian compassion, the seventh in the chronicles of Hugh de Singleton will delight medieval history and crime fiction fans alike.
 This series is one of my favorite. Hugh de Singleton, bailiff and surgeon is a witty guy. I actually chuckle out loud when I read these books! Mel Starr is well versed in old English and Medieval times, making the story very realistic. You read it and are sent back in time with the characters! There are many characters, with monks and townsfolk and on occasion I would have to back up to see which person was a good guy and which ones weren't. Some of their names were kind of similar. You don't read this book quickly in a speed reading fashion.. you will miss things!


Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Feb Heart Health Month


FACT: Heart disease kills nearly 600,000 people a year, making it the leading cause of death in the United States.

February’s Heart Health Month is the perfect time to reflect on your health and start making “heart healthy” lifestyle choices. What you decide to put in your mouth can have a huge impact on your heart. A healthy diet can be as good for your heart as it is your waistline and you might be surprised at some of the top heart healthy foods. With the below infographic from Medifast, you can get a jump start on heart health and enjoy five top superfoods!




 As I am getting older, and dealing with some medical issues, info like this is priceless. Just think about what you are putting in your mouth and how that is impacting your health. Women are just as likely to have heart disease, we aren't exempt!!

These 5 superfoods are a great way to get started in reducing cholesterol, blood pressure and inflammation.


Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



LEGO Justice League Vs Bizarro League Blu-ray Giveaway


 


Batman has joined the newly formed Justice League in order to keep tabs on Superman, a mistrust that is complicated by Superman’s clumsy – but well-meaning – clone, Bizarro. Bizarro’s creation of the Bizarro League has caused confusion amongst the world’s greatest Super Heroes, but an even greater and mysterious threat may force the Justice League and Bizarro League to band together to defeat evil.






What is your Bizarro Name??
 Jen-Crush-Zarro-Mecca! Type in your name to reveal your Bizarro alter-ego - If you don’t like your name, press the refresh button or try again!







Enter to win the Blue-ray!
US Only
Ends Feb 26



Each household is only eligible to win LEGO: DC Comics Super Heroes: Justice League vs. Bizarro League (Blu-ray+DVD+Digital HD UltraViolet Combo Pack) Blu-ray via blog reviews and giveaways. Only one entrant per mailing address per giveaway. If you have won the same prize on another blog, you will not be eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.

The prize will be sent via FedEx or USPS. No P.O. Boxes please. Please note that the assets included within this message were delivered to me  to promote Warner Home Video. I am working with Warner Home Video

Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!