Thursday, December 31, 2015

I Can Learn the Bible and The Joshua Code *Review & Giveaway



Start the New Year off with a family set of the Joshua Code. The Joshua Code and I Can Learn the Bible, the Joshua Code for Kids. This set is a great way to learn 52 verses from the Word that each of us should have stored up in our hearts.



The Joshua Code, 52 scripture verses every believer should know. This book takes a look at 52 verses from the Bible that we should commit to memory. Taken from Joshua 1:8, "This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then will have good success".
Starting with Genesis 1:1, and touching on verses through out the old and new testaments. This book is meant to be used weekly, that you would read the verse, and the commentary and work on memorizing it for the week.


I Can Learn the Bible is the Joshua Code for kids. The weekly line up perfectly with the Joshua Code book, making it easy for kids and adults to work on it together for the year! I love that they easily streamline together and give us an excellent venue for memorizing scripture together as a family. We will be using this weekly as our morning devotion before we start our homeschool morning. I really want to not only instill the memorization of scripture in the kids lives, but in mine as well.
The kid version helps teach the kids the verse and give them meaningful commentary geared toward their level.

Enter to win this set for the New Year!
US Only
Ends January 8
 
 





Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



The Wedding Chapel by Rachel Hauck *Review


The Wedding Chapel (Zondervan, November 2015)

For sixty years, a wedding chapel sat silent, waiting for love. But times have changed and the hour has come when it just might be too late.

Retired hall-of-fame football coach Jimmy "Coach" Westbrook never imagined anything would come of his labor of love---the wedding chapel he built for Collette Greer, the woman he fell for back in '49. But now an offer has come to turn the chapel into what it was meant to be---a place for love---and Jimmy sees no reason to hang onto his dream any longer.

Photographer Taylor Branson is trying to make a life for herself in New York. Leaving her hometown of Heart's Bend, Tennessee, she put a lot of things behind her, including her family's abysmal marriage rate. But love surprises her when she falls head-over-heels for Jack Forester, a top ad man. Their whirlwind romance results in an elopement, and a mountain of doubt. Jack, while genuine in his love for Taylor, can never seem to overcome his own demons to find the words of his heart.

When Taylor takes an assignment in Heart's Bend, the job does more than send her back to her hometown, but into a world of family secrets buried beneath the sands of time.

When Taylor's journey intersects with Coach's, they rediscover the heartbeat of their dreams and that the love they long to hold is right in front of them. And worth every waiting moment.

Purchase a copy:
http://bit.ly/1RlAvCm

My Thoughts
Just a warning... don't start this book in the evening, it is near impossible to put down!! I started reading it around 7:00 and really struggled to go to bed. I would have stayed up all night reading it, but I had a busy day the next day and had to put it down. I couldn't wait to grab it first thing in the morning. One of my latest favorites!!

The weaving of Coach's past history and that of many in Heart's Bend, and how it interlocks with Taylor and Jack stories is perfect! They weave together flawlessly.
Taylor and Jack are both from Heart's Bend, yet flee to NYC and end up meeting up there. They elope and it seems like much of the book is them trying to learn to communicate and share that love they have. Taylor sees the Wedding Chapel when she is on assignment to photograph it, and the Wedding Chapel really speaks to her. That symbol of the chapel is appealing to Taylor and she truly wishes that the Coach would reconsider selling it.

This is a beautiful story of redemption and the heart beat of God.




About the author:

Rachel Hauck is an award-winning, best selling author of critically acclaimed novels such as The Wedding Dress, Love Starts with Elle, and Once Upon A Prince. She also penned the Songbird Novels with multi-platinum recording artist, Sara Evans. Booklist named their novel, Softly and Tenderly, one of 2011 Top Ten Inspirationals. She serves on the Executive Board for American Christian Fiction Writers and is a mentor and book therapist at My Book Therapy, and conference speaker. Rachel lives in central Florida with her husband and pets.

Connect with Rachel: website, Twitter, Facebook





Giveaway!!
 
Is sixty years too long to wait for love? Two stories of romance, one in 1949 and one in the modern day, meet in Rachel Hauck's The Wedding Chapel. When Taylor Branson takes an assignment in Heart’s Bend, the job does more than send her back to her hometown, but into a world of family secrets buried beneath the sands of time. When Taylor’s journey intersects with Jimmy “Coach” Westbrook's, they rediscover the heartbeat of their dreams and that the love they long to hold is right in front of them. And worth every waiting moment.

Join Rachel in celebrating the release of The Wedding Chapel by entering to win a copy and a $100 cash card—perfect for finishing up your Christmas gift shopping!

wedding chapel - 400 

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A copy of The Wedding Chapel
  • A $100 cash card
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on December 31st. The winner will be announced January 4th on Rachel's blog.

wedding chapel - enter banner





Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



The Cultural Battle for Human Dignity | Evangelicals for Life






EFL Button

Clear your schedules January 21–22, 2016, because Focus on the Family and The Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission will host Evangelicals for Life, a major pro-life conference held in conjunction with the March for Life event.

The event will take place in Washington, D.C., at the Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Evangelicals from across the country will gather to hear from leading speakers, such as David Platt, Russell Moore, Jim Daly, Kelly Rosati, and others—to be equipped and encouraged to become a voice for life! The event will also be simulcast for FREE so individuals, churches, and organizations from coast-to-coast and around the world can take part.

Speakers will encourage evangelicals to engage the culture on issues of abortion and end-of-life decisions, and the event will affirm the evangelical belief in the sanctity of life, that every life matters to God and is created in His image.

For more information, visit http://evangelicals.life/.


Readers of this blog will receive 15% off their registration by using the code FocusLife.






Russell Moore will be speaking at Evangelicals for Life. He is President of the Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention. He is a theologian, ethicist, frequent cultural commentator, and author of several books. In the guest post below, he speaks to the importance of hosting the conference in the midst of the cultural battle for human dignity.


Why We’re Hosting the Evangelicals For Life Conference

By Russell Moore

As many Christians sat at their computer and watched a casual dinner conversation over the price of dismembered children, a lot of us probably thought: “But what can I do about this?” This is a question I hear often from pro-life evangelicals. Many Christians are utterly convinced in their heart of the personhood and dignity of the unborn, yet don’t know how to faithfully effectively advocate for life.

It’s important to understand that the cultural battle for human dignity doesn’t begin on Capitol Hill or on CNN. It begins in your family, in your local church, and in your neighborhood. In fact, many of the people we know most vulnerable to the abortionist’s rhetoric are not actually pro-choice, they’re just scared, scared to scandalize a church with their secret. The false gospel of the abortion clinic, which says, “We can make all your trouble go away for you,” is overwhelmingly seductive.

What these people need more than a lesson in embryonic development is to have the Gospel preached to their conscience. This means much more than simply offering “The Romans Road” or prompting a sinner’s prayer; it means speaking directly with the message of Jesus’ complete sovereignty of the universe, his righteous indignation on the murder of the unborn, and most importantly, his complete absorption of God’s wrath on the cross, and his invitation to mercy and fellowship and the imputed righteousness of the Son of God.

The Gospel disarms the appeal of the abortion clinic because it offers truth with love, judgment with mercy, and righteousness with grace. The consciences around us don’t believe what they’re telling themselves. They’re scared and confused. Shine a light on their conscience, and then present the Gospel of reconciliation.

Moreover, the pro-life movement has set an example worthy of our imitation when it comes to practical, holistic mercy ministry. For over 40 years since Roe v. Wade, those committed to defending unborn life have done much more than preach and teach; they have welcomed the scared, the vulnerable, and the wounded and loved them. This has looked like the establishment of crisis pregnancy centers all around cities. It has looked like adoption advocacy and building a culture of adoption in local churches. It’s true that our pro-life witness has a long way to go, but we do not, thankfully, conform to the caricature that says we believe life “begins at conception and ends at birth.”

FOTF-EFL 

Questions like these are why I am excited to be a part of the Evangelicals For Life Conference in January. This conference exists to help evangelicals articulate a truly Christian doctrine on the dignity of all human life. Being pro-life, after all, means much more than being against abortion on demand; it means believing in the dignity of the elderly and infirm, and advocating for compassion and inclusion of the poor, the orphan, and the widow. No doctrine of human dignity that fails to speak to these cases is fully “pro-life.”

Sometimes Christians are encouraged to leave issues like this behind. Sometimes the fight for human dignity is portrayed as “culture war” baggage. For those of us that watched an executive from Planned Parenthood talk about the most valuable anatomy of dead children, we know this to be false. The stakes for human life and human dignity could not be higher, and the plight of those ignored by the world does not go unnoticed by our heavenly Father.

We have a Gospel word to speak to the abortionist and the unborn, to the orphan and those not considering adoption. Will you join me in Washington, on January 21-22, as we seek to speak this word?

This article was adapted from the original article posted on Russell Moore's website.







Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Tuesday, December 15, 2015

El Shaddai ~God Almighty





"When Abram was ninety-nine years old, the LORD appeared to him and said, "I am God Almighty; walk before me faithfully and be blameless" Genesis 17:1

El means all powerful. Shaddai means breast. Combined these words mean He is the all -powerful One who satisfies, nourishes, and sustains us.

From Experiencing God by His Names by Dick Purnell


Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Monday, December 14, 2015

Fervent : A Woman's Battle Plan for Serious, Specific and Strategic Prayer *Review



I couldn't wait to see the much talked about War Room. It was just as great as I heard and both my hubby and I were changed and led into more of a meaningful prayer life. I really enjoyed Priscilla Shirer in her role, which for me was the first time being introduced to her. I had heard her name on occasion from friends who were reading some of her books. I up to this point just hadn't had the opportunity. Wow, was I missing out! Fervent is one of those books that every woman will want to read. A book to really help you focus your prayer time. And you don't need to have watch a movie to do it!
This book is a call to prayer. A call to being as the titles says; serious, specific and strategic. Priscilla helps teach us how to do all of those things, while helping us be alert to the enemy's arrows.

This is an active book, one you read and participate in as you work through the book.
There are 10 strategies that Priscilla walks you through in seeking to improve your prayer life.
Your Passion
Your Focus
Your Identity
Your Family
Your Past
Your Fears
Your Purity
Your Pressures
Your Hurts
Your Relationships

This is not a book ABOUT prayer, this is a strategic plan of attack in a War. Prayer is a powerful tool, and we have much we can be warring against. All battle require a plan, a strategy, and we need the same as we fight against the enemy.

I highlighted much of this book in bright pink. The pages are dog eared, and I have re read parts a few times over. This is an amazing book! This book gives you the tools to DO SOMETHING about areas we feel useless to do anything. We do much when we pray!

There is room for notes in the back of the book as well as personal prayer cards to write on and put up in your "war room". I have a corner in my room that I use when I rock the baby to sleep. I sit and look at my sticky notes and pray over the things on the bookshelf listed. It is a perfect time for me to get into prayer mode as the baby snuggles off to dream land. No other kids bothering me, and my mind is focused on the plan in front of me. You don't need a 'room ' for prayer, or a closet. You can use any nook and cranny that will take sticky notes or the cards from the back of the book. Also you can post scripture to use when praying over these things.

The devil uses the specifics above to get you to think you aren't a prayer warrior. Your fears, past, identity. Priscilla takes those darts from the devil and shows you through the Word how you can be set free from those scripturally.

I strongly recommend this book. One of my very favorites, that I have zero plan of loaning out. It is one that I will have a few copies on hand to gift out to those who the Lord let's me know, needs some more fervor in their prayers.




Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



A Journey Through the Life of Jesus a Yearlong Devotional Series



A Journey Through the Life of Jesus
A Yearlong Devotional Series of the Gospels


 
Mike Folmer
Volume 1 Days 1-90, this year long devotional is divided into four volumes. Because it is a daily devotion, and not a one pager, it is helpful that it is divided up into reasonable chunks so that you aren't having to lug around a dictionary sized book!

Mike Folmer has put extensive work into this devotional. It takes a chronological look through Matthew, Mark, Luke and John about the recorded accounts of Jesus Christ.

You can begin reading at any time, as it isn't marked for the calendar year. I always appreciate not having to match up the calendar date with what I am reading, especially when I am guilty of missing a day or two here and there. This allows me to pick up where my book mark rests and keep on the journey exploring the life of Christ.

Each devotion is about 1.5 pages in length. Very easy read. There are scripture verses assigned that I recommend reading first. This is where the meat comes from, the Bible! After reading the suggested scriptures you can then read the devotional and get much more out of it. Don't skip reading the Word, that is what the whole devotion is centered on.

After each devotion there is a ponder point where you are given a question to apply to your own life. There is typically half an empty page where if you are comfortable you can even make notes right in your book.

This is an excellent devotional. Mike Folmer has some excellent, thought provoking devotions on the life of Christ. He brings new insight and 'food for thought' in reading some of what may be familiar words in the Bible. The Word is living, and I trust that you can glean much from the Word, and from this devotional.


Get your copy from Westbow Press HERE



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



The Midnight Visitors by Juliet David *Review





I love reading Christmas stories to the kids each season, and always try to pick up a few new ones each year. We could definitely read one per day from Thanksgiving to Christmas! I especially am drawn to the ones that keep the true meaning of Christmas, much like The Midnight Visitors does.
This book by Juliet David, Illustrated by Jo Parry is a basic animal tale about the members of the barn, when baby Jesus comes to visit. Written from the perspective of Miriam the cow, she notices that town is getting busier and busier this particular night. She was alone, bedded down for the night when she started receiving visitors on this cold night. First the rabbit family came, then Freddy Fox, and finally a very tired looking man and his wife. Miriam was so full of pride that the baby was born in her barn and laid in her feeding trough. The angels were singing and the shepherds soon came to visit. I really appreciated that the wise men did not visit in this story. In scripture it is actually thought that they didn't get to the Christ Child till he was nearly 2 years old. I very much appreciate even the simple stories that just show the family and the shepherds visiting.
The illustrations are delightful to young children. I easily read this to my 1 year old and she really enjoyed looking at the pictures. This was an easy read for a younger child to read to a toddler.
Beautiful book!

You can get your copy from Amazon HERE




Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Mommy, who made Earth ? *Review



“In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.”
 
The Bible’s book of Genesis and its story of Creation inspired printmaking artist Carroll Harrison Kehne, Jr. to transform his original silkscreen prints into a children’s book illustrating how the earth was born in seven days.

In his book, “Mommy, who made Earth?,” Kehne uses expressionist artwork to retell the story of God’s creation of our world using 27 silkscreen prints, also known as serigraphs.
“My pictures in the book aren’t unlike the ones astronomers are presently showing from their space explorations of other solar systems,” Kehne said.
 
Kehne hopes the artwork, numbers, colors, shapes and patterns in “Mommy, who made Earth?” will help stimulate imagination and artistic growth in young children, and emphasize the important message that children should care for all things God created.
 
“I hope my illustrations will inform children and cause them to think and ask questions, creating an interactive discussion between a teacher or parent and child,” Kehne said.

The illustrations are outstanding! I love how Mr. Kehne took his original silkscreen prints and turned them into a children's book. I love that my kids got to see unique prints of the creation story, rather than the typical illustrated version. I liked that it was abstract enough to invoke more imagination for the kids. I love that they can see a variety of thoughts on what creation may have looked like, not always being a cartoon version. I would love to see my kids take some time to recreate Mr. Kehnes artwork in their own style.
 
For more information about Kehne and his books, visit www.kehnekids.com.

Pick up a copy on Amazon HERE


Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Chickadees, Bumbelbeez, Pussy-Willow Trees and Two-And-A-Half by Jeffrey M. Politsky *Review





Synopsis:
 
Children love to explore; it’s intuitive. And they tend to struggle when asked to confine their activities and behaviors to our adult-imposed rules and paths. Chickadees, Bumbelbeez, Pussy-Willow Trees and Two-And-A-Half is a vibrantly and exceptionally well-illustrated adventure book meant to inspire children to follow their urges to explore and to appreciate diversity. The book starts off when “One day a little brown monkey with dazzling olive green eyes, a friendly smile, and a long curly tail asked his father if there was more to the life than just hanging around with other monkeys and eating bananas.” Before long he meets a lovely grey cat and a majestic blue pelican each on their own quests. Together, they explore a foreign island and when their journey takes them into a private swath of land, they befriend a local dog who takes them further than they ever imagined. 
 
Chickadees, Bumbelbeez, Pussy-Willow Trees and Two-And-A-Half emphasizes several significant values, which help us subsist and ultimately thrive: learning through independent exploration, the need for friendship, the importance of respect and tolerance for other cultures, languages, and lifestyle diversity, along with a healthy understanding of the powers of mother nature. 

The book is in four parts, and 14 chapters. This is much more than your typical picture book. It is more like a chapter book and picture book combo. This won't be a single night read, and what fun to be able to read it for several nights in a row. Now the very ambitious of course can get through it in one sitting.

The little brown monkey saves for weeks and months to get enough money to embark on a grand adventure. He first travels to Chickadee Island near Honolulu. Cat and Pelican are on separate journeys and they too are headed for Chickadee Island. The little brown monkey meets up with the Cat who speaks fluent Bumbelbeez so the monkey asks the cat to teach him. Silly words like Boingy-Woingy, and Punya-Munya will keep kids giggling as these character continue on their adventures.
In search of a chickadee, the two meet up with Pelican. They continue on finding native foods, and exploring the jungle. Each of the characters has a personality and learn things on the way. They meet other friends including a dog on their way.
I would say that this book is best for the younger set. For maybe ages 3-8. The breaks in action in the chapters give you great places to pause if the child is growing tired of sitting still. Some kids will easily be able to sit longer to hear the entire book. It is a fun adventure to see a cat, monkey, pelican and dog travel around to places together. Kids will love it.

Fifty percent of the proceeds of the sale of each book will be donated equally to research programs dedicated to the study of dementia and memory dysfunction, and to the study of breast cancer.
I love any company that gives back and supports research like these! Dr. Politsky has personal stories in each of these areas and that has led to his support of these particular research projects. 


Purchase your copy HERE
About the Author:
Dr. Jeffrey Politsky grew up in Toronto, Canada. He obtained undergraduate and graduate degrees at the University of Toronto and his medical degree at the University of Western Ontario before moving to Vancouver for his residency training in Neurology. He moved to Boston in the late 1990’s to complete his epilepsy fellowship at Massachusetts General Hospital and has lived in the United States ever since. Today, Dr. and Mrs. Politsky live in New Jersey with their two children and two giant schnauzers. While he has written numerous articles and chapters related to the neurologic sciences, Chickadees, Bumbelbeez, Pussy-Willow Trees and Two-And-A-Half is Dr. Politsky’s first serious non-academic venture
Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Power Popper *Review


Power Popper



My boys are big fans of Marvel super heroes and anything Spiderman or Ironman are must haves! These are a real simple popping toy. You hold it at the right angle, just barely off the ground and it hits and shoots up into the air.  The 3 inch figure can fly 24 times it's height.






These make great stocking stuffers. I recommend probably at least 6 years old to use it and understand how to drop it just so. Also be real careful not to drop it from too high. They are prone to break if dropped from too high of a distance. They are made of hard foam, that felt much like plastic. 
They also have The Incredible Hulk and Captain America.


Order yours from Imperial Toy
Find Imperial Toys on Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube



Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Thursday, December 10, 2015

BOB-A-LONG Kickstarter Campaign

 

 
FROM THE CREATOR OF FREAKY PETS™ COMES
BOB-A-LONGA WILD AND IMAGINATIVE INTERACTIVE CARD GAME PERFECT FOR THE ENTIRE FAMILY!



 
NEW YORK, NY -- On December 10, (INSERT SOMEONE YOU KNOW) is proud to announce that BOB-A-LONG, the zany, interactive card game for the whole (INSERT ITEM) will be (INSERT ACTION) into the marketplace with a Kickstarter campaign found at http://kck.st/1U5Xd38.
 
When FREAKY PETS™ creator Marcus Ticotin's daughter and her cousins were little, he spent countless hours devising fun, creative and thought-provoking games for them to play, helping them to bond and use their imaginations.  Fast forward 25 years to his creation of FREAKY ENTERTAINMENT (freakypetsfun.com), a universe of unique and funny characters originally spun off into online games, a live, touring musical and reversible plush toys, available nationally through Hallmark stores.  BOB-A-LONG is an offshoot of this highly original universe, and will soon deliver hours of imaginative, interactive fun and laughter for all game lovers 8 years old and up!
 

A family card game that inspires creativity, BOB-A-LONG challenges players to bring out their inner comics as they perform charades to get other competitors to guess what's on their bizarre "action" or "item" card, wonderfully illustrated by book artist Kory Fluckiger.  Once the card is guessed, it's used to fill in the blanks in an outrageous FREAKY PETS adventure story. Then, game play truly turns zany as the designated reader is given a "flavor" to use while performing the story - whether it's speaking in "pirate", wearing a feathered chapeau or while squinting and leaning to the left.  Guaranteed to turn an ordinary game night into a hysterical event, the goal of BOB-A-LONG is to have a BOB-load of fun, while being as creative, zany, funny, as humanly -- or even as non-humanly - possible.
 
 

 
Seeking funds for a production run, the BOB-A-LONG Kickstarter campaign will launch on December 10, offering BOB-A-LONG backers the chance to get everything from a copy of the game hot off the presses and exclusive, illustrated cards not available at retail to reversible plush FREAKY PETS toys, the immortalization of you or your pet into the actual game, a personalized audio recording of the BOB-A-LONG adventure story by a professional actor/actress and more.  Stretch goals include "Bob's Shock and Awe Expansion Pack" featuring 10 additional shocking action cards, 10 additional awesome item cards and 5 additional shockingly awesomeatious story cards.
 
Delivering fun and creativity in equal measures, look for BOB-A-LONG to bounce into retail in 2016.  And, consumers seeking more information on the game can visit Bobalongfun.com and sign up for exclusive updates!

This game reminds me of the one where you ask someone for a noun, verb, name of a person, etc and it makes a funny story. Much more interactive with it being in game form!





Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



El Roi, The God Who Sees





El Roi, "The God who Sees". Hagar in Genesis 16:13 speaks El Roi the only time in the Word. "You are the God who sees me", for she said, "I have now seen the One who sees me". He is our El Roi, the God who sees everything in the Universe. Praise You LORD for being the God who Sees, we are blessed!




Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Saturday, December 5, 2015

The Golden Braid by Melanie Dickerson *review




About the book:
The Golden Braid
(Thomas Nelson, November 2015)

The one who needs rescuing isn't always the one in the tower...

Rapunzel can throw a knife better than any man. She paints beautiful flowering vines on the walls of her plaster houses. She sings so sweetly she can coax even a beast to sleep. But there are two things she is afraid her mother might never allow her to do: learn to read and marry.

Fiercely devoted to Rapunzel, her mother is suspicious of every man who so much as looks at her daughter and warns her that no man can be trusted. After a young village farmer asks for Rapunzel's hand in marriage, Mother decides to move them once again---this time, to the large city of Hagenheim.

The journey proves treacherous, and after being rescued by a knight---Sir Gerek---Rapunzel, in turn, rescues him farther down the road. As a result, Sir Gerek agrees to repay his debt to Rapunzel by teaching her to read. Could there be more to him than his arrogance and desire to marry for riches and position?

As Rapunzel acclimates to life in a new city, she uncovers a mystery that will forever change her life. In this Rapunzel story unlike any other, a world of secrets and treachery are about to be revealed after seventeen years. How will Rapunzel finally take control of her own destiny? And who will prove faithful to a lowly peasant girl with no one to turn to?

Purchase a copy:
http://bit.ly/1NZuPiD

My Thoughts:
I have LOVED this series by Melanie. It is great to see her take a classic and rework it like this. I love that she modernizes the classic tale, yet keeps the old fashioned elegance about it! These are great for youth fiction, and for adult. I can't wait until my young daughter can be old enough to read these. I know she is going to love them, especially The Golden Braid, as Rapunzel is her favorite.
I actually like Melanie Dickerson's version better than Disney! She adds so many extra details that make you really want to dive into the book more. Excellent job, and excellent series!




Melanie Dickerson is the author of The Healer's Apprentice, a Christy Award finalist and winner of the National Reader's Choice Award for Best First Book. Melanie earned a bachelor's degree in special education from the University of Alabama and has been a teacher and a missionary. She lives with her husband and two daughters in Huntsville, Alabama.

Connect with Melanie: website, Twitter, Facebook, YouTube
 


I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



The Five Times I Met Myself by James L. Rubart *Review





James Rubart is author I have really enjoyed in the past. His books are 'different'. They typically take place on a variety of planes. This book is no different. Brock moves between time, via his dreams. He has learned from a book to control his dreams and to visit himself when he was younger, to try to right his wrongs. He seeks to improve his relationship with his father, his brother, his wife and son. He tells the young Brock and gives him advice. Problem is, when he gives him advice and young Brock changes things, then the events of the future get changed as well. Caught in a spiral he can't seem to control, Brock just wants to go back to his 'normal' life.

Whew!! You have to hold on for this one. I had to back up a couple times and try to realize what time we were in, and figure out what things had changed after FB (future Brock) came and changed things in the past. Brock changes his career, his relationships, and even people around him and their  relationship with God. Most.. not for the good.
Can God work through our dreams? Can he have us visit another time and change things? He did speak things into being, so why not? Like many of his other books, James Rubart gets you thinking outside of the box and considering a realm beyond the basic one we live in.
He has a knack for writing books like this, and The Five Times I Met Myself was another great book!

Purchase a copy: http://bit.ly/1O1Wrle





James L. Rubart is a professional marketer and speaker. He is the author of the best-selling novel Rooms as well as Book of Days, The Chair, Soul's Gate, Memory's Door, and Spirit Bridge. He lives with his wife and sons in the Pacific Northwest.

Connect with James: website, Twitter, Facebook




Landing page:




I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Don't miss a single post Subscribe to A Year of Jubilee Reviews and get our latest reviews and giveaways directly to your inbox!



Wednesday, December 2, 2015