Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Lent and Jesus' prediction Giveaway

Lent is on.. What exactly is Lent? I grew up in a denomination where Lent was ‘required’ for lack of a better word.  I remember Lent being a time we gave up something we liked most.. watching TV, eating chocolate, talking on the phone. Like a sacrifice of sorts. Though as I grew up it wasn’t really ever connected to what the Savior gave up for us when He gave up His life. I remember there being those who gave up wearing things, or eating certain things, or watching their mouths, but as I remember they were typically things that were unhealthy for them anyhow.
 As a mom now, I don’t push ‘giving up’ something on the kids to celebrate Lent. We are in a non-denominational  setting now where it isn’t emphasized as much for one, and secondly I just have strong feelings about it after looking back as a kid.
I can’t give up anything for a 40 day period that will come remotely close to Jesus giving up what he did in the dessert for 40 days. Rather than focus on what I can give up, I prefer to focus on what I can add in. What can I do to give to God more this season of Lent?  Can I add in morning devotions before the children arise? Can I add in committed tithing for the 40 days? Can I keep a prayer journal and purpose to pray for each thing daily for 40 days? These kind of commitments mean so much more to my personal walk than giving up chocolate or text messaging.
During this season I want to share some scripture with you, for a couple different versions of the Word. I have the opportunity to give a Common English Bible away weekly and I do not want to miss that opportunity to bless someone!

Let’s look at Jesus as he predicts his death in Mark 10:32-34
First in Common English Bible
“Jesus and his disciples were on the road, going up to Jerusalem, with Jesus in the lead. The disciples were amazed while the others following behind were afraid. Taking the Twelve aside again, he told them what was about to happen to him. “Look!” he said. “We are going up to Jerusalem. The Human one (or Son of Man) will be handed over to the chief priests and legal experts. They will condemn him to death and hand him over to the Gentiles. They will ridicule him, spit on him, torture him, and kill him. After three days, he will rise up. “

New International Version
“They were on their way up to Jerusalem, with Jesus leading the way, and the disciples were astonished, while those who followed were afraid.  Again he took the Twelve aside and told them what was going to happen to him. ‘We are going up to Jerusalem’, he said  ‘and the Son of Man will be betrayed to the chief priests and teachers of the law. They will condemn him to death and will hand him over to the Gentiles, who will mock him and spit on him, flog him and kill him. Three days later he will rise’. “

New King James Version
“Now they were on the road, going up to Jerusalem, and Jesus was going before them; and they were amazed. And as they followed they were afraid. The He took  the twelve aside again and began to tell them the things that would happen to Him:
‘Behold, we are going up to Jerusalem, and the Son of Man will b betrayed to the chief priests and to the scribes; and they will condemn Him to death and deliver Him to the Gentiles; and they will mock Him, and scourge Him, and spit on Him, and kill Him. And the third day He will rise again’
 I for one love having various translations of the Word, as I probably am not going to be studying Hebrew and Greek anytime soon. I can't read the original Word, only the translations. I do however believe that the Holy Spirit can bring to light through any of these translations His true and perfect word.
Do you enjoy having different translations? Do you typically prefer one over another?
You have the opportunity to win a copy of Commen English Bible simply by leaving me a comment answering the previous question. Simple. No need to follow on FB, tweet, google, etc.. just a simple comment with your name and email to contact you if you win. I will use random.org to choose a winner March 8. Entries close March 7 at midnight

 Be sure to visit the   PowerPoint slide presentation of Lenten Bible readings http://www.commonenglishbible.com/CEB/LentDownloads


Mayan Intrigue book review


Mayan Intrigue
Linda Weaver Clarke
The Adventures of John and Julia Evans



One thing I admire about Linda Weaver Clarke’s writing is that she desires to put the reader right there with her characters by describing the setting so well that you are swept away. From page one Linda eloquently describes in interesting details the surroundings and the feelings of her characters. I love when I begin reading a book and am taken in!
John and Julia are on a much needed ‘working vacation’ without their 3 daughters, just the couple in the beautiful Yucatan Peninsula. Julia is on assignment for her local newspaper the Dixie Chronicle to write about the ruins and the ancient peoples. Their friend Paul, archeologist is along for the journey as well.. he kind of invited himself but who could blame him, this is the Mayan ruins!
As with many investigative reporters, Julia is eager to find out about the mysteries surrounding the Mayan culture, but also anything that seems out of the ordinary around her. She tends to have a nose for discovering the things that people are trying to keep hidden, and that includes the people in their native land. Soon Julia and John find themselves in the middle of more than they bargained for on this ‘vacation’ and are both in danger.
I have to be really selective in the books I read. I guess you could say I am a author’s dream reader as I get very wrapped up in my reading, and internalize the events of the book. What I love about Linda’s books is that the relationships in the book are God honoring and real. No sticky, fake love scenes, but real to life love between a married couple. I loved that in her first book, and she continues to epitomize what true Christian marriage should look like in a novel. So thankful to have not only that, but a great mystery to go along with it. The relationships and the communication between the characters is top notch. Add the detailed places and actions.. and in exciting wording, Linda Weaver Clarke has continued the series with John and Julia with interest and desire for more!
My top reasons you should pick up a copy of this book:
*Visually pleasing details transport you to Yucatan Peninsula
*Romantic love connection between married John and Julia
*Honest, real relationships
*God honoring
*Intriguing mystery
*More books in the series
*historically detailed

Linda graciously sent me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I am super excited to continue the series in her next book.

King of Glory book review


King of Glory
Told by P.D. Bramsen
Illustrated by Arminda San Martin


The story and message of the Bible distilled into 70 scenes, plain yet profound in its telling, geared for people of all ages.
P.D. Bramsen takes a unique approach to the retelling of the Bible in his book King of Glory. Geared for all ages, there are no preschool style writings or illustrations. Some of the material may even be a bit mature for youngsters, but what better way for them to gain the wisdom than at your feet. Excellent for family devotions as each page gives the Biblical account and has a beautiful illustration by Argentina artist Arminda San Martin.
Divided into scenes like you would see in a play or script, P.D Bramsen is able to articulate each one in a profound way to lead the reader to desire more of the scriptures. He includes scripture in each scene, and includes his retelling from the Word. The scenes are not watered down or glazed over, revealing the truth of the need for our Savior.
The book concludes with 4 messages from the story. Happily Ever after?, The bad news, The good news, and Your response to the King which walks the reader through the plan of salvation. There are also review questions for each scene to reinforce participation.
Selling for only $9.95 all proceeds are put back into the Rock projects with Rock International. You can learn more about Rock Intl online at www.rockintl.org

Visit Paul’s website at www.one-god-one-message.com to see more about his ministry.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher through Book Crash in 

Jake & Jesus book review


Jake & Jesus
Kelly Hagen


Jesus is Jake’s best friend. In this darling book, Jake tells the readers why Jesus is his best friend.
Jesus is never too tired for him
Jesus talks to him and Jake can talk to him anytime
Jesus gave his life for Jake and for all, what a gift!
Jake gives Jesus his heart.

Kelly Hagen uses simple wording, and structure to bring the truth of salvation to youngsters. Young Jake describes his life with Jesus being his best friend for the reader and invites them to have Jesus be their best friend as well. Fantastic witnessing book for young ones as it is easy to grasp, and with the faith as a child God can use this book to draw the youngest to him. Perfect size for toddler hands and it comes with a free audio download. Play it for your Sunday school class as you share the love of Jesus with them!

As we move into the Easter season I encourage those with young ones to get this book to put in the child’s Easter basket, refocus on the reason for the holiday. They will treasure it, just as Jesus treasures them!

I received a copy of this book from Kelly Hagen, a fellow Kentuckian!
May God bless her and her ministry to youngsters through this book.
You can get your copy or several copies for distributing this season from 

Katie's Way- Book Review


Katie’s Way
Marta Perry



In Marta Perry’s Pleasant Valley series, book 5 she introduces Katie Miller who sets up a quilt shop on the main street in Pleasant Valley, right next door to Caleb Brand’s furniture shop. Oh how he had wished a hardware store would have set up shop next door rather than a group of chattering women!

Katie’s teen sister Rhoda comes to stay under the guise to help Katie with the quilt shop. Really Katie’s parents are concerned about the company Rhoda is keeping. Caleb of course, working next door overhears the conversation with Katie and her mother and is determined to keep his teen niece Becky as far away from Rhoda as possible. The girls hit it off of course and Katie and Caleb must learn to be pleasant with each other. There does seem to be a love/hate relationship between them!

Both Katie and Caleb have past stories to tell, and forgiveness to extend. Will they be able to share with each other to help move on?
I was excited to read a new voice (to me) in Amish fiction. Though this is Marta’s 5th book, it was the first one I had read. I know there is quite a variety of fiction authors who have delved into Amish fiction and I was excited to find  a new one to me. Marta’s 6th book in the series will be out this spring.

What I loved about this book

*the true country feel of Pleasant Valley
*the family involvement and support
*Amish culture described and depicted to bring it to life
*I didn’t have to read the previous in the series to be able to know what was happening in this book. It was easily a stand alone.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. You can purchase it and the rest of the series here http://www.amazon.com/Katies-Pleasant-Valley-Marta-Perry/dp/0425243222/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1330542199&sr=1-1

Evidences for God Book Review


Evidences for God and His Creations:
Nature, The Flood, and The Bible
Dr. T. J. Tofflemire


If you are looking for an in-depth, thoroughly researched, apologetic book then this is the one for you. Dr. Tofflemire summarizes nearly 200 apologetic.. meaning having to do with the defense and proof of Christianity, and brings them to the attention of basic Christians. Taking the detailed, maybe harder to understand research and making it meaningful in layman’s terms. I know I tend to shy away from Apologetics because it always seems too intellectual or hard for me to understand. I love how Dr. Tofflemire breaks it down into terms I can relate to and then share with others around me.

The book’s purpose, paraphrased from the author.

*Give an overview of the problems and big picture first and then provide some summary details and references allowing the reader to delve deeper
*Allow the reader to give ‘big picture’ talks on various topics
*Aid the Christian to have ready apologetic answers to common questions and differing world views.

This book is excellent for the Bible student, homeschoolers, Christians who desire to be able to share more of the Biblical World view with those outside of that world view. It is not a light read, even though Dr. T basically gives us a summary of the summary of many resources. Deep subject matter like this can’t be dwindled down to bare bones.

Fantastic resource book for referencing different works written by non Christians and Christians alike to prove the evidence for Noah’s Flood, the Creation of the world by God alone, and the inerrancy of the Bible.  I could see this being a great college or high school resource book.

I appreciate Dr. Tofflemire taking the time to contact me about his book. I am excited to share it with my high school boys and get their take on the information he presents. I loved that it wasn’t apologetics according to Dr. Tofflemire, but more a collaboration of resources on the subject.
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. You can get a copy of this book at http://www.amazon.com/Evidences-God-His-Creations-Apologetics/dp/1463427018/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1330540509&sr=8-2

The Devil's Puzzle Book Review



The Devil’s Puzzle
Clare O’Donohue

A Someday Quilts Mystery


Back in my farming days I loved to quilt! Actually still love to quilt, it is just my quilting/computer room has become the storage zone for our unpacking after our recent move out of state. I will be back to quilting eventually, but for now I find great joy in reading about quilters! Couple that with a mystery and I am golden
Nell had melded into life in Archers Nest , working for her grandmother Eleanor at Someday Quilts and now volunteered (by said grandmother) to organize a quilt show for the 350th anniversary of the town.
When a skeleton is discovered in Eleanor’s garden, and strange happenings start up, the town wonders if old John Archer is causing unrest from the grave. He did practice witchcraft after all. Now fingers are pointing to Eleanor as the killer.. how can that be?

Now I am not big into reading about witches, vampires or the like. I was drawn to this book because of it’s quilting theme, and Devil’s Puzzle is a quilt block. It doesn’t have all those things I mentioned either, just a set up to consider in the beginning. So as Nell is looking for who dun it, the author throws in romance and intrique to the mix! For Eleanor and Nell.  The mystery kept me guessing till the end. I loved the twists and turns as Clare O’Donohue organized the mystery, but also kept the characters growing in their relationships with each other. I loved the closeness with Eleanor and Nell and despite their differences they were able to come back to each other.

I am excited to read more of Clare O’Donohue’s work. This was the 4th in a series so I can back track from here.
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Summer Wildflower Honey- Review

I am a honey snob. Simple. I have researched honey bees, and the process of raising your own hives. I desire to someday have my own hives, at least 2 and become a bee farmer. I love fresh, natural honey. I have personally seen the improvement in allergies in my own family by their daily use of locally grown honey. Hubby and I would put it in our coffee in the morning rather than another sweetener and it honestly made a difference. It was rare that we  needed to take an allergy pill. I purpose to buy local honey whenever possible, and if not to buy raw, natural honey from a producer. You will not see me buying honey from a super center.. why?? Raw honey containes all of the pollen, live enzymes, proplis, vitamins, amino acids, antioxidants and minerals just as it was in the hive. Not processed and refined. 






We Mohawk Valley Trading Company in Utica New York offers the highest quality organic and unprocessed natural products that they can possibly produce.


Unpasteurized honey, unfiltered honey, unprocessed honey, unheated honey and unblended honey. Pure, raw gourmet honey.




Raw wildflower honey is often used by pollen allergy sufferers to lessen their sensitivity to pollen by eating 1 to 2 tsp. of it each day. The idea is, that by introducing small amounts of pollen into their system by eating raw honey, a tolerance to pollen allergens is built up.


It tastes excellent!! Naturally healthy, and great tasting!! Can't beat that for lunch or any other time of the day!



Thumbs up from a 4 year old!! It doesn't get much better than that. 


Buy your honey today by contacting Mohawk Valley Trading Company on their website
http://www.tenonanatche.com/raw-wildflower-honey.htm

1 pound glass jar is only $10.00 


Not only do they have wildflower honey, they have orange blossom, apple blossom, buckwheat and more. Each honey will vary in taste based on the flowers the bees gathered from. 


I received a product from Mohawk Valley Trading to facilitate my review. This review is my honest opinion. 

Monday, February 27, 2012

Max Green Alchemy Product Review

Max Green Alchemy

Fine quality, natural, personal care products
Max Green Alchemy strives to create products that are healthy for the consumer and the environment, but more than that.. ones that work great! Carefully selecting ingredients that are pleasing to the body and not toxic or hazardous. What are you feeding your skin?
Starting in 2004, Max Green Alchemy has produced 15 personal care products for your body, skin and hair using only ingredients from pure plant origins.  Their products define natural.
Loved on their website an article on 9 ingredients you won’t find in their products and why. Read that here http://www.maxgreenalchemy.com/cgi-bin/store/cp-app.cgi?pg=cci

I sampled naked rescue Cream

Unscented moisturizer for every body
Organic and of pure plant origin

Product   Naked Rescue Cream
Color     White
Texture   Smooth, Creamy
Scent   Unscented
Thickness of Product   Medium thickness
Amount Needed    Very small amount
Immediate Feel   Heavy and a bit of a greasy and oily build up
Residual Feel   soaks in beautifully. Small amount of oil is retained on the outward skin,  with no adverse residual build up
Lasting effects   moisturizes dry hands for hours
Time to notice difference   after handwashing dishes and causing very dry skin I was able to feel an immediate difference with this product
Key ingredients    water, sunflower seed oil, plant emollient, shea butter, Jojoba seed oil, vegetable glycerin, aloe vera
Price  4 oz $19.95
Uses  dry, chapped, itchy skin. People with chemical sensitivity or allergies



Is it worth it? I feel that this product was excellent in its moisturizing properties. Perfect for anyone because of it being unscented. I feel that it is a good value for what you get as you do not have to use much at all in order for it to be effective. Excellent product and I highly recommend it.

Visit Max Green Alchemy today to see what other fantastic products they offer

Visit them on Facebook and tell them A Year of Jubilee sent you!!

I received product from this company in exchange for an honest review.




Blogger & Sponsor Opportunity


A Year of Jubilee is participating in the Honor the Earth Giveaway Hop with Happy Mothering and DeDa Studios .


The hop runs from April 15th to Aprill 22nd. They are accepting signups now! This falls right during Earth Day which is a great opportunity to share Eco friendly products with your readers. proudly present the “Honor the Earth” Giveaway Hop from April 15th 12:01 AM EST to April 22nd 11:59 PM EST and are accepting signups now. Sign up here http://www.happy-mothering.com/2012/02/27/sign-up-for-the-honor-the-earth-giveaway-hop-for-earth-day/

A Year of Jubilee is always on the look out for Eco Friendly companies to commit to sponsoring an event like this. Contact me if you have an interest in participating!

The Guardian Duke Review and Giveaway 3-6

The Guardian Duke Jamie Carie





The only thing I disliked about this book was that it had to end! Series are hard for me to wait for the next book to come out!
Castles fascinate me and I love reading historical fiction that involves castles and the time period of Dukes and Kings.

About the book:
The Guardian Duke is about Gabriel the Duke of Easton who is ordered to take over guardianship of Lady Alexandria Featherstone after her parents are missing for a year and presumed dead. On a treasure hunt, Alex does not believe her parents are dead and heads off to find them. The Duke though struggling with his hearing decides to head out to find Alex and bring her back, choosing to have professionals look for her parents.
Alex is under the impression the Duke is old and too much of a busy body. Little does she know he is an eligible bachelor looking for his true love.
Loved the book, can't wait for the 2nd one to come out this summer!

The series has a FB page http://www.facebook.com/forgottencastles
Get your copy here http://www.amazon.com/Guardian-Duke-Forgotten-Castles-Novel/dp/1433673223/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1330367665&sr=8-1

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


You can win your own copy of The Guardian Duke by Jamie Carie!
Click on the Read More link at the bottom of the post and then follow the rafflecopter for your chances to win!





Free Glass Straws from Glass Dharma!


Free Glass Straws!
GlassDharma – The Original Glass Straw

(Ft. Bragg, CA) - Feb. 26th, 2012 – GlassDharma will give away 500 – 1000 free glass strawsduring the month of April 2012 in celebration of Earth Day. The GlassDharma mission is to get more glass straws to beverage sippers in an effort to increase awareness about single use plastics alternatives.  This 4th annual Earth Day event will ask participants to simply submit a link to a 1 - 3 minute YouTube video contribution (or) write a 100 - 200 word essay in an email addressed toalong with their request for a free glass straw.

I love my straws – the words most often spoken and written by GlassDharma customers will be the theme for video and essay submissions during the 2012 GlassDharma Glass Straw Giveaway. The suggested content is to encourage participants to declare how their glass straws relate to a better world.  The Environment, Elegant table-ware, made in USA and/or Personal Joy might be elements for expanded content.  Free Glass Straws will be shipped out of Fort Bragg throughout the month starting on April 1st, 2012.  Free Shipping (USA) will be included with each Free Glass Straw.  There will be a Grand Prize of a $100.00 Gift Code to one winning submission in each of two categories, video and essay. 

GlassDharma Straws are Durable, Sustainable and Elegant
The GlassDharma Quality Control department ensures the quality of each and every straw. Offering an unprecedented lifetime guarantee, GlassDharma stands behind their product, and promises that if it breaks, it will be repaired or replaced. GlassDharma straws are made fromborosilicate glass, the safest and strongest glass commercially available; they are even dishwasher and microwave safe!

Garnish your Glass
GlassDharma straws not only replace their plastic and toxic counterparts, but their beauty and style lend to compliments and conversation.
·         Great for all hot or cold drinks
·         Perfectly stages specialty drinks – bubble teas, iced drinks, shakes and smoothies
·         Beautiful in cocktails – great accessory for stemware and martini glasses
·         Concerned about staining your teeth? Use for wine, coffee and teas
·         Kid friendly and safe
·         Elegance at its best

One for Everyone
GlassDharma straws are available in three collections: Simple Elegance, Beautiful Bend, and the color accented Decorative Dots. Offered in many lengths and widths, GlassDharma straws are available individually or in sets.  The accessory line includes cleaning brushes and hemp soft sleeves for carrying your straws on the go.  Custom etching services and store display packaging options are the newest purchase options.

GlassDharma Glass Straws bring the new eco-definition to “Sipping Responsibly”.


For more information contact Glass Dharma at www.glassdharma.com


Hapenny Magic- Jennifer Carson


Sometimes the cover of a book grabs your attention right away and you think.. I want to read that one!! Hapenny Magick was that way for me. Such darling illustrations. I wanted to be transported to the world of Hapennys! Geared toward elementary aged children, some of the elements of the magic may be frightful to smaller children and it may not hold their attention span. 
Maewyn Bridgpost is the tiniest hapenny which is a race of tiny people. A servant to Gelbane her guardian. She learns that Gelbane is a troll and Hapennies just happen to be a troll delicacy!

Dakota's Review:
Hapenny Magick is a delightful read. It is about a young hapenny who discovers that things aren't what they seem as she finds her place in the world. The story is full of familiar magical beings such as wizards, trolls, hapennies and even a giant. The storyline is inspiring but it also will bring laughs. The story is geared for children, but teens can enjoy it too. All together this book is a great read. 5 stars

We received a copy of Hapenny Magick from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

Sunday, February 26, 2012

It's Easy Being Green - Crissy Trask

It's Easy Being Green A Handbook for Earth-Friendly Living by Crissy Trask

Easy being green? That isn't what the frog used to tell us :)
Truly.. step by step, small changes at a time, it is easy to begin living a more Green lifestyle.
What is green?? Tree hugging, environmentalist, vegetarian, bohemians?? Well yeah, they are usually green, but being green is much more than a stereotypical lifestyle. Anyone can be green!
Living a increasingly green lifestyle to me basically means to be better stewards of what God has given to us. It isn't about Mother Earth being a goddess, or serving earth as a master.. it is about the Creator designing the earth for our sustenance and we are damaging it with our lack of understanding and or desire to change.

It's Easy Being Green is an outstanding place to start in gaining knowledge on easy things you can begin to do to preserve our earth while we are here. We make choices every day and often times we can make more eco friendly choices without much effort on our part. Things we heard as a child.. turn off the water when you brush your teeth, take quicker showers, turn off the light when you leave a room, close the doors and windows to conserve heat.. but are we doing those now as adults?


Chapter 3 Crissy gives eco-tips for living greener including check off boxes next to each for you to track the things you would like to work on doing. Organized by categories like Work, Travel, Energy, Kitchen and Meals and more. Super ideas that you can start tackling right where you are!

Want to learn to buy green more often? Not sure what those products look like? I have been reviewing with various green companies lately and it really has opened my eyes to the choices we do have to purchase green items. With the internet at our fingertips we are able to make choices in buying that will impact our stewardship. Crissy discusses buying decisions and how to shop eco friendly in chapter 4. If you aren't sure of where to shop online she gives you an organized list of places to shop online in chapter 5.

Resources, definitions of eco friendly terms, and organizations to become involved in makes this book a definite buy if you are at all interested in changing the way you conserve.

Indeed a great handbook for all things green!! Absolutely recommend it!


Get your copy from Gibbs-Smith
http://www.gibbs-smith.com/productdetails.cfm?PC=2375

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. 

Miami Vineyard Live Review & Giveaway 3-8

Eclectic, Dynamic Worship Experience!!
When I loaded up my cd on the system and started it, I was instantly transported to Cuba!! I love the variety this worship CD offers in various people groups utilizing their talents and worshiping Christ with one voice. We can sing these traditional worship songs in church, but there is something unique when it is given a Caribbean twist to it. Makes you want to dance!
Lord Reign in Me was my favorite selection from the Cd, perhaps because I knew it well in it's traditional sense, so was able to hear the uniqueness most in the composition of this version. 
The sound is clear and crisp. Lively, worshipful praise!!
About Miami Vineyard LIVE:
What happens when a group of 20+ musicians and 10+ songwriters steeped deep in their own musical traditions of Black Gospel, Latin, Caribbean, and Anglo come together to create a new tradition and sound? What happens when the fusion of Black, Anglo, Latino, Caribbean, and Cuban voices unite together to worship in one voice? Among the 2000 people that attend the Miami Vineyard Community Church, there are over a hundred singers, instrumentalists and songwriters that make up its eclectic worship ministry. For one night, these musicians joined together in worship and invited the church to document the sound that is uniquely MIAMI VINEYARD LIVE.
This distinctive bi-lingual liturgy is filled with many flavors, from Latino claves to gospel two-step to funk and soul to delay-laden rock guitars of modern worship, yet they all work together seamlessly to create a new sound and voice that is authentic and refreshing. From anthems of praise and proclamation to songs of intimacy and adoration, there is a common thread running deep throughout this recording and that is true worship of the Living God as an expression of His Kingdom breaking in on the streets and beaches of Miami, FL

The songs on the CD

HOLY SPIRIT COME
GLORIA A DIOS SOLO (WITH MY WHOLE HEART)
LORD REIGN IN ME
I LOVE YOUR MERCY
AT ALL TIMES
IF YOU SAY GO
EVERYTHING TO ME
WITH ALL OF MY HEART
YOUR NAME IS GREAT
YOU RESTORED ME
BREATHE
HALLELUJAH ANYHOW
HOW GREAT IS OUR GOD
 Visit Vineyard Music online and see a video of this worship experience!
http://www.vineyardmusic.com/vm/miami-live

Visit Miami Vineyard on Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/miamivineyardLIVE

To get your copy purchase here..
http://www.vineyardresources.com/equip/content/miami-vineyard-live-cd

Enter to win your copy of Miami Vineyard Live
Click on Read More to go to the Rafflecopter 
USA only. Winner will be verified
Winner has 48 hours to claim their prize or a new winner will be chosen. 


 “Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or
services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it 
on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally 
and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance 
with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the 
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Saturday, February 25, 2012

Cows Can't Quack- Dave Reisman

Children love books about animals and envisioning them saying different things. Dave Reisman does just that in his book Cows Can't Quack.. but they can Moo. Repetitive in the structure, again something young kids love and can easily memorize to 'read' to Mom and Dad. 
My 4 year old grabs the book after I read it and says "This is the best book!" Somehow Dave was able to get in the mind of a 4 year old, find what makes them laugh, and make a funny animal book about it. I struggled with a hippo braying and rabbits cooing.. but then again I am a logical adult who has had farm animals and somehow don't have the humor of a 4 year old!. Dave didn't write it for adults anyway! 
Funny, comic like illustrations by Jason A. Maas adds character and humor to the text. Animals in unique positions, making goofy faces.. just what small tykes love!
My 4 year old has yet to do this with any other book I have reviewed. So I am letting him be the expert on this one. It is the Best book!!
I seriously think every home with small children needs a copy and you should suggest to your libraries to have one for story time!!
Get your copy here http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&sort=relevancerank&search-alias=books&field-author=Dave%20Reisman

Stop over and Like Jumping Cow Press on Facebook, leave them a note that you saw a review on A Year of Jubilee Reviews! http://www.facebook.com/JumpingCowPress


and then leave them a tweet at https://twitter.com/#!/cowscantjump

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


Lugz Boots Review & Giveaway

Lugz

For the past 6 years I have lived on a farm, toting water to animals, mucking out stalls, milking goats, gardening and more. I have been through my share of work boots in that time. I have had bulking ones, heavy ones, water soaking ones and big ugly ones! These pink ones were my latest pair..
Cold and rubbery! No insert and though water proof, they are brrrrr... cold

I was super excited to learn about the Lugz company, though I am off the official farm now. With a recent move we need to get settled in before we start adding livestock back in to the mix. I know quality workboots and can still utilize mine for feeding chickens and working out in the cold climate.

The boots I got for a review were the Women’s Tambora. These boots are WARM! I sure wish I would have had them on those cold nights out in the barn. The soft acrylic lining gives them light as air comfort on the inside. No rubbing against rubber or hard material within the boots. Felt like I was wearing slippers outside! I would wear them as slippers in the house, but I think they may track around a bit too much dirt for me to have to clean up! I think Lugz needs to make some slippers with the same lining inside.

They are also gorgeous boots! I could easily move from the barn to run an errand without changing boots and not feel out of place. They are dressy and practical. You can wear them with the collar up like in the picture above, for more warmth and taller protection for working outside. You can also wear them with the collar folded over like the photo below, to give them a more fashionable look. 

These boots are nice and light weight. No trudging up and down the hills in heavy boots like these that my Hubby has to wear daily and used to do all fo his farm work in!.

Lugz has a fantastic selection of boots for the entire family! I think next on my list will be Hubby :)

From Lugz:

The Women's Tambora combines fashion, comfort, and functionality to assure that you will love your boots for years to come. They feature an extra soft acrylic fur lining, suede shaft, and adjustable collar so that you can wear them however you like.
DETAILS:
  • Suede shaft
  • Soft acrylic fur lining
  • Cushioned insole
  • Padded tongue
  • Rubber toe cap and heel
  • Adjustable fold-down collar
ABOUT LUGZ
Lugz the brand Built for the Street has always been an innovator and leader in urban footwear, Lugz first made a name for itself in October of 1993, bringing its first line of boots to market.  Soon Lugz was endorsed by key players from the world of hip hop and has continued to do so through out the years by creating trendsetting styles beyond boots, adding casual shoes and athletics to the mix.  In the fall of 2008 Lugz shot on to the Mixed Martial Arts scene signing its first two MMA fighters, Lyoto Machida and Houston Alexander as endorsers. Machida captured the title of UFC Light Heavyweight Champion as he represented Lugz. Shortly after,  Lugz signed Quinton "Rampage" Jackson .  In 2010 Cain Velasquez became the newest endorser of Lugz; immediately after signing, Cain fought to become UFC World Heavyweight Champion.  Today, 2011,  Lugz continues to grow its Team – signing UFC Welterweight Josh Koscheck and UFC Light Heavyweight Phil Davis.

Lugz: Built for the Streets….Your Street our Shoes

Visit Lugz today and see their great selection! http://lugz.com

Want to win a pair just like I reviewed?????
The Tambora retails for $69.99 from Lugz and you can have the chance to win a pair.
Click on Read More at the bottom of this post, and that will take you to the Rafflecopter. Simply follow the rafflecopter entries for your chances to win!
This is for USA only please. I will verify the winner so make sure you do the options you enter.
I appreciate the opportunity to review the Tambora's from Lugz in exchange for an honest review. These are great quality boots and I highly recommend them!