Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Rainbows End Coffee Review and Giveaway


Rainbows End
Superior Montana
Fresh Roasted Coffee


Randy and Wendy Russ run Rainbows End from Western Montana in the shadows of the Bitteroot Range. There coffee is roasted to order so you are getting it as freshly roasted as you can without roasting your own beans.
Being a smaller business Rainbows End is able to give you the year of the coffee bean crop, the specific quality grade, and the name of the Farmer Co-op behind them, working closely with the bean growers in Bolivia. These are not commodity coffee beans but 100% Premium Arabica Beans. 

They buy their beans from eco-friendly estates in the high –altitude regions of the Yungas in Bolivia in strict accordance with Fair Trade standards. 

So now that you have the background, how was their coffee??

Smelling the fresh roasted beans, grinding them and putting them into the coffee pot I am thinking of sitting around a campfire in the mountains at night, a chill in the air. I take my first sip of coffee and I am pulled into that scene even more with the roasted flavor and deep rich scent of Rainbows End coffee. 
Perhaps it is the whole roasted in Montana premise that gets my imagination going but I feel like hollering out “Circle the Wagons Pilgrim”. I really would have loved a good ole fashioned metal mug to drink this coffee from. Superb roast, and an obvious focus on detail by Randy and Wendy when roasting these coffee beans. 

I loved that they are a small company buying their beans directly from a Co-Op and having such an invested interest in where their beans are coming from. 

They have been super to work with and I hope you will take some time to visit them at their etsy shop http://allmontana.etsy.com
I have a small bag of coffee graciously given to one of my readers from Rainbows End.
Follow the entries in the Rafflecopter and be sure to stop in daily during Coffee Revue for some more wonderful Coffee Reviews!!


Mavericks Coffee House Review & Giveaway

Mavericks Coffee House and Roasting Company

As I brought my package from Mavericks out of the mailbox I could smell the richness of coffee. What a tease to my mail carrier!
Mavericks sent me 4 different coffees to sample

Midnight Ride Blend was outstanding. I see why it is Mavericks best selling coffee. Rich in caffeine, I was the energizer bunny after only one cup. Super smooth flavor yet bold with the nice dark roasted flavor.

Peru Organic is a super coffee for giving you just what you need in a morning coffee. Geared for the smoother roast folks with not quite the wallop that Midnight Ride Blend punches.  Labeled USDA organic, it is an extremely smooth coffee.I think it would make an excellent iced coffee.

Dark French Blend is another bold, dark roasted coffee.. obviously from its name. It is Mavericks darkest roast coffee, and is very bold and rich. Mavericks says that many of the customers use this blend in their home espresso, it is strong bodied.

Sequoia Organic Blend is another USDA organic coffee. Labeled a medium coffee it sits nicely in the middle between Peru Organic and Dark French Blend. Roasted slowly with no burned flavor or acidity.

And what is super cool is that is just a tiny sample of the coffees that Mavericks has!
And yummy chocolate covered coffee beans! Instant caffeine buzz!

Check them out online

And on Facebook


One Coffee loving Reader is going to win big from Mavericks.
A Bold Roast 3 Pack & Chocolate Covered Coffee Beans
Use the Rafflecopter for your Chances to Win! Entries Close on Feb 11, 2012

Monday, January 30, 2012

Crazy Dog Tshirt Review and Giveaway


Unbeatable Shirts and Unbeatable Prices.
The variety of shirts that Crazy Dog has is fantastic. Great categories like Retro, Funny, Video Games, and Dog shirts just to name a few!

I had a hard time deciding with such a variety of categories but chose Choose Your Weapon which is found in the

I got mine in Navy for my 14 year old. He loves to wear shirts with Unique sayings!



Keeping my boys young while I can appealed to me, and my son loved the shirt!
It fits fantastic and is well made.
I personally loved to stroll through the vintage category and think of days gone by.
Truly there are shirts for everyone at Crazy Dog!

Be sure to check out their St. Pats day shirts and get for
March 17!

Crazy Dog T-Shirts is giving one of my readers a Gift Certificate for $15.
 Rules are you can have received a promotional item within the past 90 days, or own a review/giveaway blog of your own! Anyone not following these guidelines will be disqualified.




Ozeri Precision digital Bathroom Scale- Review

The Ozeri Bathroom scale is definately an upgrade from my old dial scale that needed recalibrated and tended to be inaccurate. 
It is so much easier to move this scale around, it is light weight and durable despite its tempered glass top.  

When moved around it auto calibrates so you may need to disregard the first reading if you recently moved it. Not a problem though as I usually step on it again to make sure it was right the first time.
Well made scale and much more pleasant to look at than the chunky older models of scales.
The only concern I would have is that moisture can damage the scale's sensors so you won't want to keep it near your shower or anywhere that it has potential to receive any humidity.


You can purchase your scale at Amazon for $18.95

http://www.amazon.com/Ozeri-Precision-Digital-Widescreen-Activation/dp/B006FKYKSW/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1327961637&sr=8-2

I received this scale from the company in exchange for an honest review

Quilt Calendar Review & Giveaway

Have you procrastinated through the month of Jan and still need a  2012 Calendar??

I know us artsy craftsy types don't mind having several calendars when they have fantastic quilt photos and instructions like these from Martingale & Company



The Patchwork Place Quilt Calendar 2012 includes quilts that are scrappy, reproduction prints, bold brights and more. Patchwork Place authors like Vicki Bellino, Terry Martin and Jo Parrott just to name a few designed these quilts and they are just gorgeous.
I am a beginner.. maybe intermediate quilter and always love to look at the work of those who are advanced and professional. Gives me inspiration in my artwork and desire to grow.

Martingale & Company produces American's Best -Loved Craft and Hobby books. They offer books for all of your crafting needs, not just super Quilt Calendars!


I received 2 calendars from Martingale & Company and wanted to share one with A Year of Jubilee Reader. This calendar features the Award Winning Quilts from the International Quilt Association. True pieces of art, each and everyone of them. Varied so greatly in design. One of a kind, unique photos to grace your wall as you organize your own quilting projects and guild meetings!


Super Simple Entry
You must be a Google Friend Connect Follower of A Year of Jubilee Reviews for this giveaway.
After you click on that please leave your name and email address in the comments section.
Easy Peasy!
Entries close at midnight eastern time on FEB 5 and I will use Random.Org to select a winner


and on




Winners Green Resolutions!

Winners!!!
Elizabeth won the Ploozie from Lime Grasshoper!

Alisia is the Winner of the Soda Art Necklace from APMemory


April Clark Trent is the Winner of Mulled Minds Stainless Steel Straws

Amanda Jasinski wins the Detergent from Rockin Green 
Clancy Cash Harrison wins the Recycle Truck from Buy Green


Thanks for making the Green Resolutions a huge success! 
Jan 31 Starts Coffee Revue with fantastic giveaways and wonderful Coffee companies

Sunday, January 29, 2012

UnHallowed Ground Book Review

Unhallowed Ground
Mel Starr

Description:
Another brilliant slice of medieval crime fiction Thomas atte Bridge, a man no one likes, is found hanging from a tree near Cowleys Corner. All assume he has taken his own life, but Master Hugh and Kate find evidence that this may not be so.
Many of the town had been harmed by Thomas, and Hugh is not eager to send one of them to the gallows. Then he discovers that the priest John Kellet, atte Bridge’s partner in crime in A Corpse at St. Andrew's Chapel, was covertly in Bampton at the time atte Bridge died.
Master Hugh is convinced that Kellet has murdered atte Bridge--one rogue slaughtering another. He sets out for Exeter, where atte Bridge now works. But there he discovers that the priest is an emaciated skeleton of a man, who mourns the folly of his past life. Hugh must return to Bampton and discover which of his friends has murdered his enemy.


It is honestly hard to find Christian Fiction books set in Medieval times. One of my very favorite time periods to read about with my unrealistic dreams of castles and knights in shining armor! This book was superb! The mystery of whodunit kept you reading and guessing and trying to figure it out right alongside of Hugh. I loved the relationship with Hugh and his new bride Kate too which gave us another side of Hugh.. super helpful in character development. Mel Starr graciously gives us a mini dictionary in the front of the book with some medieval lingo, which I did have to use on occasion. Definitely not a book you can speed right through. The language barrier makes the reader spend more time and depth in understanding what is taking place. 
This was Mel's 4th chronicle of Hugh and the first I have read. It didn't upset my reading at all with it being the 4th. It could easily stand alone, or draw in that you want to see what else Hugh as been up to prior to this murder investigation.

Fantastic Read!!


I received a copy of this book from Kregel in exchange for an honest review.




.. Toys with Feelings Inside
I am not sure who was more excited when our Kimochis arrived. The 4 year or the 10 year old!

 Absolutely beautiful workmanship on this toy Bug. The stitching is tight and the colors are vibrant and distinct. The kids loved how this bug started as a caterpillar and had hidden wings you can pull out for him to fly. His name is simply Bug. The Kimochis have books you can purchase separately that explain why they come with the emotions that they do.

Bug came with the Emotions of Left Out, Brave, and Happy.


As my 4 year old said to his brother, "Hey Give me back my Motions!" I love the interaction we had explaining what Emotions are, and the different ones Bug expressed.

  The Emotions fit right into Bugs front Pocket

You can purchase additional Emotions to help teach your youngsters.
And several other Characters like Cat, Cloud and Huggtapus


This toy was an all around hit with everyone!
Visit Kimochis on the Web at

and on 







Recent Winners

Thanks to all who have entered!!

Maple Hill Dryer Ball Discount Coupon- Nicole Coffman Cole

SnapSac- Melissa Phinney

A Mile in His Shoes- Elizbeth Braun

I have sent an email to each of you asking for your snail mail address so that we can get your your prizes!!

Still time to enter many EcoFriendly Giveaways!! And Start gearing up for Coffee Revue week!

Saturday, January 28, 2012

Green Earth Pan Review

Amazon's Product Description
 "Utilizing GREBLON -- a natural ceramic coating from Germany, the Green Earth Pan by Ozeri is one of the world's first frying pans to achieve non-stick perfection while remaining absolutely free of PTFE, PFOA and other harmful chemicals. This version of the Green Earth Pan features a textured ceramic cooking surface designed to prevent food bonding for superior non-stick performance.
 At very high temperatures, PTFE begins to decompose and release fumes which are documented to be lethal to birds and small pets, and which can be harmful to humans. In addition, traditional pans incorporating PTFE are manufactured with the aid of PFOA (PerFluoroOctanoic Acid), which the EPA has classified as a 'persistent pollutant of the environment'. "

100% PTFE and PFOA free means this pan is healthier for us to use, and healthier for the environment. Have you seen your old teflon pans lately, the ones that are flaking off and getting into your food? Seriously nasty for your body. I have yet to find a pan that doesn't eventually do that. Though I have only had this pan a short while, I do hold out high hopes that I have finally found pans for our family that will meet our needs.
The true test of a pan is of course the omelet! And not only that but having the 9 year old cook the omelet. Typcial method is to pour a lot of oil in the pan and hope it doesn't stick and get teflon stuck to it or burn. Not with this pan! Very little oil was used and it may not have even been necessary to use any.



These pans come in several sizes and are extremely easy to clean!

Our family will definately be getting rid of the old pans and replacing them with Green Earth Pans by Ozeri

Click Here to Purchase Your New Pans


Where Wildflowers Bloom- Ann Shorey


Ann Shorey sets Where the Wildflowers Bloom right after the Civil War when families are struggling to get back to life with the losses they have suffered. Faith Lindberg is one of those who lost her father and brother in the war and is left with her elderly Grandfather. The man she loved Royal Baxter is missing and her hopes of marrying him are shattered.
Faith's Grandfather has a mercantile in town and Faith is learning to run it despite her lack of desire. She would rather sell it and move away from all of the memories and shattered dreams. Grandfather is a centered man with great biblical wisdom that I think Faith learns to appreciate.
When Royal ends up returning Faith's first notion that something was not as God planned when he doesn't even remember her!

I love how Ann takes the character of Faith and grows her right in front of us as we read. That her Grandfather and his wisdom, and friends like Curt and Rosemary are there to help as she opens her eyes to the beauty of God around her and His plans that may not line up with her previous ones.
Super characters! I loved Curt and his simple ways of trying to reach out to Faith. A beautiful Story!!


“Available January 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

I received a copy of this book from Revell in exchange for an honest review

Friday, January 27, 2012

Alphabeasts Giveaway and Review

 


Alpha Toys, LLC, has unveiled an entirely new line of educational plush characters (The Alphabeasts) created to teach children their ABC’s and how to spell while having fun simultaneously.
The 15” plush characters retail for $15.99 each and come with a detachable biographical collector’s
card. The Alphabeasts Alphabet Book Box Set, showcasing the ‘beasts’ in multiple creative
illustrations, retails for $15.99.


Alphabeasts is giving one of my readers a Random Lettered Alphabeast. Which letter will it be??

Use the Rafflecopter to enter and be sure to stop by Alphabeasts website for some fun activities for the kids.


Initial product launch consists of 26 unique 15” doublesided learning companion ‘beasts’ with an
upper case alphabet letter residing on one side of the doll, and a lower case character in contrasting
color residing on the opposite side. Each Alphabeast has a distinctive design characteristic and
physical attribute that makes them different from one another. When these plush characters are
used together, children learn to spell an infinite combination of words.



My children tend to have LONG names, so we may not be doing a lot of spelling with Alphabeasts but I can tell you my daughter was very thrilled to have an S beast to snuggle with!


Alphabeasts have one side with a capital letter and the opposite side contains the lower case letter. A bit more difficult to see the difference with an S, but you can browse through their website to see the fun and interesting characters. I wasn't sure if my daughter would like a beast.. she is kind of a girly girl. She loved her beast Snibbles and slept with him for several nights! He is extremely well made. With stuffed animals and reviewing them I love to pull on their ears, poke their bellies and give them a once over to test for durability. The alphabeasts pass the Jubilee Review test!

My other 5 children now all want one, including the teens! Wonder what words we can make with D, M, M, C, S and M.. hmmm, need some vowels in there I think!



Socks 4 Life- $25 Gift Giveaway

Socks4Life

Socks, we all need them, many companies make them, but are all socks created equal? I think not!
This time of year my thoughts are much on socks and though I tend to just pick them up when I am at those mass market stores, I saw Socks 4 Life and thought why not give them a try!
Well I was super happy with the price, wondering then if the socks would be lower quality?


Great quality. Not too thin, not too thick.
Huge Variety of Styles, I like the wilder the better! Vivd colors, unique designs.

I have big feet and I did not struggle to get these on at all. I even wore a pair all night which I rarely can do because they annoy me.
I was super excited that the socks for myself were so great that I plan on buying my children's socks through Socks 4 Life as well.
I am a stay at home Momma so I dont really have to worry about dress socks matching my outfits, but Hubby and I have gone round and round on this one. So what socks Do you wear with what colored pants?



Want to try out these totally fantastic socks?
Visit

http://www.socks4life.com/


And enter to win a chance for a $25 Gift Certificate by leaving a comment below with which style of socks you would use your gift certificate for!!

This giveaway is open to US residents. Please leave your name in email as well as the answer to the question to qualify for the drawing. I will be using random.org to choose the winner and contact them to have the gift certificate sent! Entry ends midnight on 2-6-12
You can buy  alot of socks for $25
Tell your friends!!

I received my choice of socks from Socks 4 Life in exchange for an honest review. The opinons expressed here are solely my own and in no way paid for or endorsed.

Chasing Mona Lisa Book Review and I-touch Giveaway



Chasing Mona Lisa delivers a suspenseful, detailed historical story you wont be able to set down! As is standard Tricia Goyer fashion, the richness of the history of the time draws the reader back to a distant time and invites the reader to dwell there. I was never fond of history as a kid in school, but authors like Tricia and Mike bring out the desire in me to delve more deeply in history as they are able to bring it alive and make it exciting for the readers!!
I have never been disappointed with Tricia's work. This is the first I have read of Mike Yorkey and now I must get the first book they have written together and meet Gabi and Eric for the first time. Dont miss out on this writing team!!


Win an iTouch SPY Pack in the Chasing Mona Lisa Giveaway from @triciagoyer @mikeyorkey! Chasing Mona Lisa is the continuing tale of Gabi Mueller and Eric Hofstadler (first introduced in The Swiss Courier). This time the due are on a relentless quest to save the most famous painting in the world  - the Mona Lisa. You can help Gabi and Eric with your very own spy pack when you enter The Chasing Mona Lisa Giveaway!


One passionate protector will receive:
  • iTouch (The must-have device for any spy. Camera, Maps & Music.)
  • Starbucks Gift Card (For all those late nights.)
  • Moleskin Notebook (For those important notes.)
  • Invisible Ink Pen (Don’t want anyone reading those important notes.)
  • Chasing Mona Lisa by Tricia Goyer & Mike Yorkey (Great handbook and intriguing tale for any spy-in-training!)
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends at noon on January 31st. The winner will be announced at the Chasing Mona Lisa Facebook Party on 1/31. Tricia and Mike will be hosting an author chat (on Facebook and Live from Tricia's website) and giving away their books and a Book Club prize pack! (Ten copies of the book for your small group or book club AND a LIVE Author Chat for your group with Tricia and Mike.)

So grab your copy of Chasing Mona Lisa and join Tricia and Mike on the evening of the 31st for an author chat, spy training (do you know how to pick a lock?) and lots of giveaways. 

Enter via E-mail Enter via FacebookEnter via Twitter
Don't miss a moment of the fun. RSVP today and tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 31st!